We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best carrot cake ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Fear Cafe

Cape Fear Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/cape-fear-cafe-duncans-mills-2
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best carrot cake ever!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have only eaten dessert here, since we live in the county and love stopping by on our motorcycle rides for dessert and coffee. The service is very friendly and "down home". The atmosphere is charming but nothing spectacular. But - the carrot cake is the best I've had anywhere and I've been around a long time and traveled to every state in the Union! I love carrot cake anyway but this is la créme de la crème of carrot cakes. If you'll be within an hour of this place, go out of your way to come here and try some.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a total treat”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Loved the warm and casual atmosphere, the welcoming and helpful staff and most of all the wonderful food at very reasonable prices.

Their noodle salad is memorably embedded in my heart
and taste buds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reinaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great afternoon snack”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Being from North Carolina and Virginia we were intrigued with the Cape Fear reference of this restaurant.Turns out the owner had been from NC as well.We enjoyed a Mimosa and delicious clam chowder. It had a very diverse menu. Indoor and outdoor dining available.The weather was so great we dined outside.The employees were charming and friendly. Definitely recommend.

Helpful?
3 Thank PattieC757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our group ate breakfast and dinner there while staying at the Duncan Mills campground. The food, service and the setting were all excellent. The food was tasty and was reasonable considerating the quality. Wood definitey eat there again when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drichabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was on a nice Saturday drive in the Backroads of Sonoma County. Had a nice brunch at Cape Fear Cafe in Duncans Mills, I had their Hangtown Fry consisting of Pan-seared Cornmeal Oysters, Country Sausage and Green Onion in Parmesan Scrambled Eggs. It came with Home Fries and Grilled Wheat Toast. Delicious! The service is still not stellar, rather indifferent and slow, but the place was packed on Saturday late morning. Unusual for me to be here in October since I only come here in the summers. The location is very rustic and it's always fun eating here regardless of the service. Enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Fear Cafe also viewed

Jenner, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cape Fear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing