We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choo Choo, all aboard!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railroad Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Absolutely a great experience. Sleeping in a caboose with a capula on top for viewing and enjoying a beverage. The peaceful surroundings, a very picturesque view of Craig Mountain. Pool, Spa, Great train dining car restaurant and lounge opens at 4pm. 4-5 days a week. Go to the caverns in shasta, or walk behind the waterfall in Dunsmuir not far away. FUN FOR THE YOUNG AND THE OLD.

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to catch the owner who built the railroad park visits the lounge around 4-5pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one night in a "king caboose". It was one of the coolest places I have ever stayed. The caboose was very comfortable with TV, full bathroom with shower. The grounds are nice with beautiful scenery. Dunsmuir is a nice little town with good restaurants and shops. Plenty of hiking trails and a near by lake. I wish we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emtdan61270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We rented a "box car" instead of a caboose. Very cool! They have done a realy good job fixing them up. There is a small kitchen area with refrigerator, microwave, sink, and table with two chairs. A tv as well. The bathroom has a bureau in it, and a sink, shower stall and clawfoot tub (with a little stool as well) Very spacious. There is a love seat and coffee table in front of the sliders to the deck. (which overlooked the pool area) The queen bed is last, with another tv and night stand. The lights are all chandeliers.
The tv's are old style and huge, with limited stations. The bed was not that comforable, but ok for one night. The pool area and hot tub are the best part of the park! We loved it. Lots of deck chairs, tables, etc. Super clean as well.
The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water.
The restaurant is only open Thurs - Sun, so we went into Dunsmuir for both dinner and breakfast. Great places to eat there! I highly recommend it.
We would stay here again! Really kind of cool, kitchy, and old school all at once.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcrn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was with a group of 29 grandparents & their grandchildren and it was a fun experience for all. The caboose was actually better than I expected. We had 2 double beds, small fridge, tv and the bathroom was small but nice. The staff in the office were helpful and the surroundings set among the trees was beautiful. There is a swimming pool (not heated), hot tub and a creek running through the grounds.

Room Tip: There are about 20 cabooses from different railroads and also 6 cabins which have kitchen, living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We absolutely LOVED this place. Spent 4 days last week with 13 other family members. We had four children there (all boys from ages 4 - 13 months) and each one of them had a FABULOUS time. Also you are only a couple of exits from Dunsmuir. Although small and kind of run down, there is a little grocery store and a fantastic restaurant by the train tracks in historic Dunsmuir called Dogwood Diner (see separate review for that).

With that said - I do have some pros/cons.

Pros:
- Location location location! Beautiful grounds, plenty of trails, ponds, pool, hot tub.
- You sleep in a caboose. How cool is that and need I say more?
- Rooms were always cleaned everyday.
- The dinner train (restaurant) was great. The food was excellent.
- Room had a fridge (not much is close by so bring food or hit up the grocery store).
- Bathroom was spacious and had a full bathtub/shower combo.

Cons:
- We did order a room with 2 queens. Note - there is only one queen and two twins. I slept on one of the twins and it was the most painful sleep I've ever had. My hip is still bruised from sleeping on my side. They could spend the extra $$ to replace those mattresses (well I'm not really sure they are mattresses but in any case get something that is actually comfortable to sleep on.)

- Room was supposed to come with a microwave... it did not.

One other con to note that has NOTHING to do with the Lodge itself but more the location -- cell reception is almost non-existent. And the wifi only works if you are by the pool and it is hit or miss. I was ok with it since I was on vacation and enjoying the scenery but just something to note. I did feel a little out of the loop!

All in all we had the best experience. We will definitely be going back and will try and hit up this place at least once a year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papasandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

What a great time we had! Kids loved it, actually I (a 40 year old) enjoyed it. Office staff was very nice and friendly! I would love to stay there again. Kids loved the little stream that runs through the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

What an awesome place! A hidden treasure! We were actually looking for another campground when we found this one ... GLAD WE DID! This is a privately owned campground that is NOT commercial! Looks more like a national or state campground! Full to no hook-ups on a river! Peaceful and quiet! A little on the pricey side ... They have a lot of railroad cars in front area that are rented out as "cabins"! This is a seasonal resort, so don't cry if they are closed ... call ahead!

Room Tip: Seasonal Resort - Call For Availability!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inclineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
109 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
198 reviews
8.3 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
9.3 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Park Resort

Address: 100 Railroad Park Rd, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Caboose....Eat on the Train. More than a place to lay your head; it's a step back into railroad history while enjoying modern comforts. Breathe in the pine-fresh air and relax beneath the beauty of Castle Crags. An adventure awaits you. Chose an authentic caboose, rustic cabin or the RV park and campground. Pets are welcome and a walk around Murphy's Pond is just the ticket for travel weary legs. Dine in the historic Wells Fargo or Pullman Car. Sip your favorite cocktail surrounded by railroad memorabilia. Ah! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railroad Park Hotel Dunsmuir
Railroad Park Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing