We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Picturesque”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railroad Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Bautista, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unique and Picturesque”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After a week of staying in four star hotels, this was our last hurrah and we were not disappointed! The whole family enjoyed their stay - the kids especially liked exploring the grounds. The restaurant and lounge were closed for the season so we brought our own snacks and drinks to enjoy in the cozy caboose. Do not overlook this spot, especially when traveling I-5. Shout out to Ashley for all her helpfulness and information on the area.

Room Tip: We were a party of 5 and Caboose 14 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachermamaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    68
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
76
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a nice overnight stay in a caboose. Red one in the back of the resort. Room was nice, clean, basic, but everything was good. No complaints. Resort was not very full as it was in mid october and it was cool at night. Parking was fine. I did not try their on site restaurant. Service was good.

Room Tip: rooms can be a bit cool in winter, but bed was nice and had a lot of blankets. electric heater a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwalb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and 3 our our kids enjoyed this great fun getaway.
We had stopped here several times over the years on our way to other destinations.
The kids have always been itching to stay in the caboose motel and they finally were able to.

They LOVED the swimming pools, beds and say the bathroom was a amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BetsyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a unique stay. We stayed in a caboose. It was so quiet in the caboose, the view of Crag mountain, awesome, caboose was very clean, spacious bathroom, coffee maker, micro, cable TV & small fridge, but as noted in previous review, prepare to board caboose via caboose steps. The staff was very friendly, they aim to please and make your stay enjoyable. We too were unable to get wi-fi, but that was ok as we only stayed 3 days. We ate dinner twice in the railroad dining car, delicious both nights, freshly prepared food & reasonable prices. We plan to return here again.

Room Tip: Cabooses up in back are away from freeway & very quiet. We stayed in #25
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Staying in a caboose is special! The location with views of the Castle Crags is beautiful. The 'rooms' are all different with shower or bath/shower and well maintained. Be prepared to climb the small steps up into the caboose. Nice pool and spa. The wifi (outside the lobby) did not work, this was a pity, but for us not a problem. Staff seems to be using the pool as well, but were very present, vocally, and kept on slamming the fence. There would be room for improvement.

Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a caboose with cupola, but they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A different kind of hotel. Great pool. Great restaurant. Located right off hwy 41. Great view behind the property. State park located 3 miles south has a view off Mt. Shasta. I would stay again. Very quaint.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMiller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Train #11 with our 2 year old son. He absolutely loved sleeping in a train!! The room itself was bigger than I thought it would be- there is even a full bath room with a tub. Our room had a queen bed, decor is nothing fancy- standard motel decor but it was still very nice. The campus here is beautiful! There is a creek going through the park that goes under the entrance of our train. And the view of Castle Crags is amazing! My parents stayed in cabin 4 & it was very nice too- large with a nice living room. It is decorated with a soft blue paint & very cozy. The gift shop has lots of fun train toys and books for kids. We will definitely be back! Next time we'll stay in a train with a king bed because they all have these fun windows in the top with seating. I don't know what they're called, but it looks fun! This place is a must for kids and adults alike!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie62983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
8.3 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.3 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
8.2 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Park Resort

Property: Railroad Park Resort
Address: 100 Railroad Park Rd, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Caboose....Eat on the Train. More than a place to lay your head; it's a step back into railroad history while enjoying modern comforts. Breathe in the pine-fresh air and relax beneath the beauty of Castle Crags. An adventure awaits you. Chose an authentic caboose, rustic cabin or the RV park and campground. Pets are welcome and a walk around Murphy's Pond is just the ticket for travel weary legs. Dine in the historic Wells Fargo or Pullman Car. Sip your favorite cocktail surrounded by railroad memorabilia. Ah! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railroad Park Hotel Dunsmuir
Railroad Park Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing