We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railroad Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here as a stop over on a round trip from San Francisco to Seattle. My husband found this resort from Trip Advisor. What an amazing place - we arrived just off I-5 below Redding and found a collection of railway cabooses, a train and a restaurant car. We had booked the Box Car. If one bears in mind these are individual conversations and have been built with love - they are superb - OK maybe not luxurious but quirky. The setting is lovely, very peaceful and clean. We had a bath and shower which worked very well and there were a fridge and microwave. One thing to bear in mind is take provisions if required (especially for breakfast) as the park does not have any grocery stocks. They have a drink vending machine and ice but the park is not near immediate shops. However that does not detract from the uniqueness of this resort.
We booked into the restaurant on site which is run separately, situated in an old railway restaurant car a short walk down the site. What a wonderful place. We met some lovely people who lived locally and it is obviously a popular local dining venue. The bar had atmosphere and the bar lady was superb she was so efficient remembering all the orders.The menu was excellent and the food well cooked and presented.
As we walked back to our Box Car the noise of the frogs and crickets was amazing.
This was such an unusual stopover and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed over at the Railroad Park Resort on our way down to the Bay Area. You do not have to be a "railroad buff" to appreciate staying in one of their railroad cars. They did a fine job in converting the cabooses into cabins. The resort grounds is very picturesque and their dinner car offers very good food. I would recommend this unique stay. Although we were there in between tourist seasons, I would guess that this is a great place for kids, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Absolutely awesome place. All rooms are in a caboose. So cute! Our caboose was very clean and well taken care of. Very comfortable. Beautiful grounds and all at a great price. The staff are very courteous and friendly. They are also pet friendly! We brought our dog and we are all having a great time! We will definitely be back. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the Mt. Shasta area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We will definitely be staying here again. Our 4 y.o. and 6 y.o. boys of course were ecstatic at the thought of sleeping in a caboose. The little boy in me enjoyed the thought as well. And my wife discovered that she could do some surprisingly decent stargazing through her astronomy binoculars as there was very little light pollution once you stepped away from the lights interspersed around the cabooses (we were obviously there on a cloudless night, and though the grounds are otherwise well-lit and with a good # of evergreens, there were some good open sky spots too for dabbling with some views of jupiter, the pleidies, and andromeda) We stayed in #18. Beds were quite comfortable. The "room" stayed completely warm throughout the night despite the 20 degree weather - though we should have left the bathroom door open during the night as it was quite cold in there in the morning (the bathroom did have a heat lamp though and warmed up fairly quickly). The place apparently has wifi, but we could not get it to connect despite repeated efforts (though we expected this based on other reviews). The boys also enjoyed playing a bit in the train engine near the resort office in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After a week of staying in four star hotels, this was our last hurrah and we were not disappointed! The whole family enjoyed their stay - the kids especially liked exploring the grounds. The restaurant and lounge were closed for the season so we brought our own snacks and drinks to enjoy in the cozy caboose. Do not overlook this spot, especially when traveling I-5. Shout out to Ashley for all her helpfulness and information on the area.

Room Tip: We were a party of 5 and Caboose 14 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachermamaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a nice overnight stay in a caboose. Red one in the back of the resort. Room was nice, clean, basic, but everything was good. No complaints. Resort was not very full as it was in mid october and it was cool at night. Parking was fine. I did not try their on site restaurant. Service was good.

Room Tip: rooms can be a bit cool in winter, but bed was nice and had a lot of blankets. electric heater a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwalb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and 3 our our kids enjoyed this great fun getaway.
We had stopped here several times over the years on our way to other destinations.
The kids have always been itching to stay in the caboose motel and they finally were able to.

They LOVED the swimming pools, beds and say the bathroom was a amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BetsyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
109 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
198 reviews
8.3 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
9.3 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Park Resort

Address: 100 Railroad Park Rd, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Caboose....Eat on the Train. More than a place to lay your head; it's a step back into railroad history while enjoying modern comforts. Breathe in the pine-fresh air and relax beneath the beauty of Castle Crags. An adventure awaits you. Chose an authentic caboose, rustic cabin or the RV park and campground. Pets are welcome and a walk around Murphy's Pond is just the ticket for travel weary legs. Dine in the historic Wells Fargo or Pullman Car. Sip your favorite cocktail surrounded by railroad memorabilia. Ah! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railroad Park Hotel Dunsmuir
Railroad Park Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing