We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Railroad Park Resort
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Dunsmuir(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Lodge(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Holiday Lodge(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Shasta Resort(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shasta Inn(Mount Shasta)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Valley Inn(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Mount Shasta)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
149
76
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
76
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining carcastle cragsrail carsgift shopunique experiencefun place to staysmall creekprime ribpool and hot tubbeautiful settingroad tripknotty pinecreek runningreal traingreat for kidsrv sitesnice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial weekend while in town for a wedding. We stayed in train car #9 and it was comfortable and clean, with all the basic amenities.

We went into the "dining car" restaurant for a cocktail and ended up staying for dinner. The bartender was friendly, and we shared some plates and had a bottle of wine. Food was fine, but we do get spoiled living in Chicago :)

The ambience of the whole place is very cool with the antique train cars and surrounding mountains. If you like trains, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I place is awesome. We have now stayed twice at this unique hotel park. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our drive was taking longer than it should, I received a call from the front desk inquiring about our check in time. We were going to be late checking in so they opened our room, turned on the porch light and left the key in the room for us. Now that is what I call service. Love this place and will stay here many more times in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank studenttraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This motel has most of its rooms in cabooses. These are cars that used to go on the rear of every freight train in this country and they were occupied by a couple of railroad employees who monitored the rear of the train. In the 1980's they were replaced by a small electronic device and the railroads sold the cabooses off cheaply to whoever wanted them. A number of them were used to make motel rooms as is the case at Railroad Park resort. My wife and I stayed in caboose #23, which had a coupula (a raised area in the middle of the car, which had raised seating and high windows which allowed the trainmen to observe the train ahead of them). Other cabooses had bay windows for the same purpose. One has to climb the steep end steps to get on the end platform to get into the caboose. Inside one entered into the bedroom. It had nice wood paneling on the walls and ceiling. The queen sized bed was a tight fit. The middle section of the caboose was still had its original metal surfaces. If one was reasonably fit, one could still climb the vertical steel steps into the raised seating area and look out the high windows. Beyond that was an area with a side mounted air conditioner, that kept that area cool but had little effect in the bedroom. Opening the window in the bedroom was effective in cooling it and let in the restful noise of the creek that flows right outside. At the far end of the caboose was the rather standard bathroom, which was again wood paneled.

The resort is located in a very scenic location in a small valley surrounded by wooded hills, one of which is surmounted by Castle Crags, a natural rocky formation. It is located off of what is essentially its own exit off of I5 about one mils south of the south exit for Dunsmuir.

Room Tip: Read the detailed room descriptions on their website to help you choose a room that fits you needs. They have at lead one room in a converted boxcar and several in some older cabins.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent place to stop if you're traveling down I-5 to San Francisco. Very clean cabooses, friendly staff, and quiet. There is a dinner car on the property for dinner and the small town of Dunsmuir has several nice restaurants and coffee shops. There is also great trout fishing in he Sacramento River that runs through the town. The resort also has a swimming pool, Sauna and a small creek running through the property.

Room Tip: Any caboose will work, depending on how many in your party. Most have two beds (some one large), all have a shower, TV, fridge, and coffee maker.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwilks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here as a stop over on a round trip from San Francisco to Seattle. My husband found this resort from Trip Advisor. What an amazing place - we arrived just off I-5 below Redding and found a collection of railway cabooses, a train and a restaurant car. We had booked the Box Car. If one bears in mind these are individual conversations and have been built with love - they are superb - OK maybe not luxurious but quirky. The setting is lovely, very peaceful and clean. We had a bath and shower which worked very well and there were a fridge and microwave. One thing to bear in mind is take provisions if required (especially for breakfast) as the park does not have any grocery stocks. They have a drink vending machine and ice but the park is not near immediate shops. However that does not detract from the uniqueness of this resort.
We booked into the restaurant on site which is run separately, situated in an old railway restaurant car a short walk down the site. What a wonderful place. We met some lovely people who lived locally and it is obviously a popular local dining venue. The bar had atmosphere and the bar lady was superb she was so efficient remembering all the orders.The menu was excellent and the food well cooked and presented.
As we walked back to our Box Car the noise of the frogs and crickets was amazing.
This was such an unusual stopover and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews