We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cathardic Spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sengthong's Restaurant - CLOSED

Sengthong's Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cathardic Spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

When the chicken fried rice with Sengthong's own hot oil hits my mouth, I chew, and then it hits me. Just so good. Great place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellence At Last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

The food is exquisite, especially rare in this county. It's pricey. Their decor is also untypically attractive for the county. My mouth waters thinking about Sengthong's. They used to provide excellent entertainment -- do they still? I sure hope so, it's the icing on the cake.

Helpful?
Thank Mathilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced for so-so food, service, and atmosphere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I normally tip well. I did not tip this restauraunt. Service was poor. Price was twice the value of the meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimemarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This food is so delicious and the service is great. Hard to believe something like this exists in such a small town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PasoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Just not saucy enough for my Thai taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The staff was incredibly kind and the setting was fine, but the Thai was really more Vietnamese than Thai. The curried chicken lacked curry with a real punch; it was very mild with just a light sauce, which was okay, but just not as flavorful as usual. There was nothing wrong with the food - just not what I expected and didn't really live up to the hype. The worst of the whole deal is that the dishes were SEVERELY overpriced ($18 for one dish, opposed to $9 at any other Thai restaurant!)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing