We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”

Railroad Park Resort Dinner House and Lounge
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We dined here whilst staying at the Railway Park. Set in a converted restaurant car which had great atmosphere and was a very lively setting for an excellent dinner. The menu was varied and the food well cooked and was served by friendly and efficient staff. It was good value for money. We enjoyed our meal very much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Shasta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Visited the restaurant for our anniversary accompanied by our grandson. We enjoyed steak, fried shrimp, and ravioli with chicken with clam chowder and spinach salad and can say nothing but excellent for all the dishes. We are very glad to see the restaurant open again and wish them the very best. If you have enjoyed them in the past, please try it again - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie-mtshasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Railroad dining car”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We ate dinner twice in the railroad dining car during our stay here. The food was freshly prepared, delicious, the chef & staff want to please you. They came & asked if our food met our expectations, which it did. The drink & wines prices are good & the food is reasonably priced and a variety of items on the menu. In addition they have dinner specialties each night. It was so relaxing here, they had a fire going in the lounge before dinner, it truly is a railroad dining car.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in restored historic RR resort.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The restaurant was like an authentic historic dining car. The grilled halibut was delicious, vegetables not overcooked. Price reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good American Food”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Railroad Park on our way up from Marin to Bend, OR. It was aWednesday, so most of the restaurants in Dunsmuir that were recommended by Tripadvisor.com where closed. So we ate at the Railroad Park restaurant in a restored train dining car and were pleasantly surprised. The food was not gourmet, but it was good.

We started with steamed clams and a decent green salad. So far, so good. Then my wife had the mango chicken and i had the roast duck with a fruit sauce. Both were very tasty.all-in-all, with limited expectations, wecwere pleasantlybsurprised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ankiandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railroad Park Resort Dinner House and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Railroad Park Resort Dinner House and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing