We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little 50's style Motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cave Springs Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Older but clean. The facility consists of a few styles of units, little old cabins, a strip motel, and a house for rent. Our group of 4 rooms were in the "strip". This place is rustic and not a Marriott, and in among the trees. There is some highway noise from Interstate 5 but we did not notice it at night. Mostly the outdoors types stay here and you can take hikes from here.

Room Tip: The little cabins need work. But very quaint and nostalgic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff is nice and friendly. The rental cabins by the River are run down shacks at 79 bucks. A tent would be better. To each their own but I don't understand the good review for these tiny shacks. I noticed a tarp thrown over one to keep the worn out roof from leanings. These a fire hazard places.Refrigerators on the porch, camp stoves in the tiny kitchen, old gas heaters that can't be legal,beds more then scary. No TV I guess if you want to camp in a wood tent it would make you happy. Asked for a refund and we got one and were moved to one of the Rooms in the main motel.. It was clean and ok but over 100 dollars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hwy, the train, the rumble strips on the hwy. All of these can be heard all night above the river. Nothing like hearing a car/truck hit the rumble strip at 75 mph at 2am. The place is what others have said just don't believe you will only hear the river. Why was the train blowing it's horn so much? Bigfoot must have been on the tracks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our favorite place to stop in Dunsmuir on our way to Portland. Feels like a place we might have encountered on Route 66 when my family moved from Michigan to California in 1953. Sweet old nostalgic place set in the woods with a pool and spa. Rooms are average, simple and clean. Folks are friendly, grounds are quiet and serene. This is a pet friendly place that our dog loves.The kind of place that makes you smile when you think back on simpler times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stopped at the Cave Springs Motel for one night. The proprietors are so very friendly and pleasant. This motel has a combo of various size modular units and cabins that very in size so they are able to accommodate different size groups. We stayed in a modular unit which was a 2 bedroom/2bath unit that also had a full kitchen, 2 TV's, a DVD player and could sleep 6. Our king size bed was very firm and high off of the floor so with my short stature, I had a hard time, but my tall husband thought it was fine. The location is very close to Interstate 5 so it was easy to find.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank lovetocamp90808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Pretty tired when we made a late-night stop here New Years Eve on our way back to Canada. Peaceful & quiet in the motel units in spite of nearby I-5. Hosts refreshingly low-key & casual, but still welcoming & very helpful with tour suggestions. Real crockery provided in the tasteful & spotless room was nice touch, and made good use of in charming always-open communal hot tub. This was best sleep stop of 2-wk CA trip. Admittedly, most were cheap chains, but Cave Springs was only $10-15 more & worth every cent. Don't miss classic Dunsmuir itself, a cool town full of warm people.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Cave Springs Resort hotel rooms are very clean and the management is very friendly and accommodating. Will stay here again when in the area again. Our group traveled from southern California to Dunsmuir to take in the sights. We were welcomed and treated very well by the owner and the staff at Cave Springs Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
0.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
108 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
4.4 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Dunsmuir
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Springs Resort

Address: 4727 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cave Springs Hotel Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing