We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting”
Review of Dunsmuir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunsmuir Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here as a teen and long time family friends have taken it over and have made it a nice place.

The room we were in was nice, albeit a bit small for the king bed. The bed was comfortable and the location is relatively quiet since it is a railroad town and trains go through from time-to-time that affect any place you stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WChamplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After debating between this motel and another equally priced, both sight unseen and reading the reviews, we chose the Dunsmuir Lodge and we were not disappointed. It is clean and comfortable with much appreciated AC. We loved the cozy, kinda funky decor and the meadow setting. It is a short drive to the city center. No, they do not serve breakfast, but considering what is normally offered in a motel, that was OK. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachele482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night during our recent visit to Mount Shasta. The motel was very basic and I felt that the rate was high for that, we paid about 90$ for a king bed room even during the off season. The room was okay and clean. The location of the motel is very good, just off the I5. The continental breakfast was a big disappointment. The only good thing (other than the location) was the person at the front desk, he gave me lot of valuable information about what I could see throughout the day in nearby areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmuir L, Owner at Dunsmuir Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with the stay. However, we believe he has referenced the incorrect lodge and the incorrect charge for the room he described. Our price is less than $90. We do not serve a continental breakfast, preferring to support our local restaurants in town, which are very close and serve wonderful breakfasts. Also, this is not the "off" season for Dunsmuir because we have the kinds of outdoor activities, such as fishing and skiing, that are open and available all year. This is a destination year round. This review does not describe our property at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medical Lake
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Everyone was right this is a cute lodge. It sits on the outskirts of town and has been totally renovated the beds are wonderful and the decor cute. Now the down side the employee was anything but friendly I believe it was the owner. He must have been having a bad day as he was downright unfriendly. I signed a slip to use my credit card which I thought was odd since he had already ran my credit card and than I went into the room and figured it out. The towells have a posting if you use the wrong color towell on clean up or bath and it is soiled or stolen you will be charged so many dollars per towell. If your dog barks which I agree is disruptive you will be charged 125.00! So in otherwords you think you have had a wonderful stay and than possibly get home to see you have been charged more which in our case didnt happen. Perhaps because we did have our pug with us we werent treated as well. The room was very dusty which happens when they sit for awhile understandable. The fridge was unplugged when we opened it water came gushing out from a ziplock bag that apparently had held ice at one time. I took the towell to clean it off the floor and it turned black . The fridge was dirty overlooked in a cleaning before. Dunsmuir is an adorable little town everywhere else we went the people were wonderful and friendly. Perhaps he was having an off day. At anyrate you must try the dogwood diner when in town the food is fresh and delicious and the help is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The Lodge was wonderful, clean rooms, friendly staff. The rooms were as described; very cute country decor. I loved the quilts. Our room was #14, and it was surprisingly warm , even though the temp outside was a whopping 16 degrees. Our room had a shower only, and the bathroom was on the smaller side, however the charm of the room & staff overshadowed that. They also gave a great recommendation for breakfast at the Cornerstone. The food was excellent! Will definitely return to this great little lodge!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMamaNapa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This place was great! Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Close to downtown, Mt. Shasta, and Weed. Many beautiful natural wonders to behold. The employees were very helpful and had sleds for guests to use on a hill behind the lodge. I will be returning to Dunsmuir Lodge again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EV2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Front desk staff was very helpful and knowledgable and made great dinner recommendations. The lodge is located near the river with a lookout towards the canyon, a great place for a picnic or to settle in with a good book. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroadStreetInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
70 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
980 reviews
7.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
7.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Dunsmuir
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsmuir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsmuir Lodge

Property: Dunsmuir Lodge
Address: 6604 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2626
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunsmuir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunsmuir Lodge is located 1/2 mi. south of the town of Dunsmuir, and just 15 minutes from Mt. Shasta Ski Park. It is located on 4.5 acres of land and has a beautiful meadow with trees and a view of the forest across the canyon behind the lodge. All rooms are on ground level with easy access to your vehicle(s). It is a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Pets are welcome, $10 extra per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunsmuir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsmuir Hotel Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing