We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Dunsmuir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunsmuir Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed here 2 nights, with our teenager. "Suite" #3 which has a separate bedroom, so our teen could have his own room. His room was nice and large with a full size bed, dressers, table & chairs, tv, coffee maker, extra toiletries and airconditioning. The main room was a tad smaller but with a queen bed, tv, fridge, coffee maker, aircondioning and closet. The bathroom was small but very nicely done, quaint, clean and had a window.
The room was spotless, nice hard wood floors, and the beds were very comfortable. It was so peaceful, clean & quaint..
Outside the rooms you can smoke if you like, there were chairs, tables & recepticals. The soda & ice machines were located outside of the office near our room, no problem with noise from either. On the property if you walk down the stone stairs there are two brick fireplace/grills, one evening we made a fire and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. On the property there are several nice picnic tables to enjoy as well with nice views. On top of the ice machine there is a small laundry basket with clean rags to wipe the dog, car, bike, spills...whatever. It was nice having them there, I did have to wipe down the plastic outdoor chairs but that's something I always do...like I said, it was nice to actually have clean rags available to do it with...
They did offer a continental breakfast in the mornings, nice big muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. It was small but really adequate and really fresh....
The access on and off the highway was easy. When I called for a reservation for the Suite I also asked if they gave a discount for AAA members...they do not, however, she was more than happy to give us a 10% discounted rate. So there you go, that's customer service.
This was a very relaxed place, clean, comfortable and overall good value for the money.

  • Liked — The beds, floors, fluffy towels, extra bedroom.
  • Disliked — Having to wipe off outdoor furniture myself.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    35
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
45
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

After looking at the options between Dunsmuir and Shasta, we selected Dunsmuir. Based on past reviews from this site and information from the hotel's website, we settled on Dunsmuir Lodge. It is a cute inn, in an eccentric town. The king bed was a four poster bed (big wooden posters). Very comfortable and very clean. I looked high and low for anything to comment on with respect to the cleanliness and it was all tidy and clean. The previous reviewer is correct about the wiring. Very difficult to charge electronics. The bathroom is retro, with subway tiles as the decor. Fairly small shower (no tub in our room, but who needs it while on the road), with limited water pressure. Nice ammenities, and decent linens. No hair dryer, though.
Very close to town where there is an interesting collection of restaurants. The burger place has fantastic burgers, and to die for milkshakes. Apparently the Thai restaurant has fantastic food as well, although we did not eat there. If we were passing through again, I would certainly stay at the Dunsmuir Inn.

  • Liked — clean, location, ambiance
  • Disliked — wiring, no hair dryer
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank getmeoutoftherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Nice place, great mountain scenery, clean comfortable beds, dog friendly, newer clean window treatments, non smoking policy.
Some whimsical electric wiring, outlet location not very convenient if you need to plug laptops, cell phones, etc. An extra night lamp would have been nice, because overhead lights are overly bright.

  • Liked — Nice, clean, some decorator touches
  • Disliked — Not very convenient if traveling by train (Amtrak)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

We were on our way to Oregon but couldn't make it over the pass. We ended up staying at the Dusmuir Lodge and it was a great little place! Positives: Clean, cozy, refrigerator, comfortable beds. Negatives: water heater didn't allow more than a 5 minute shower, tiolet issues, no microwave. All in all we would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — no microwave, lacking hot water
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaciEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

My wife & I stayed here for one night on a trip to Oregon. We arrived late and had to wake up the night clerk but he was very friendly and polite despite being disturbed.

Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. The floor appeared to be a wood laminate instead of the usual carpet which added to the overall fresh feel of the room. Location of motel is off the freeway so there was no road noise. The grounds were well kept.

The rooms are no smoking but they have chairs just outside the room with ashtrays so you don't have to go too far to light up.

We'll be back another time when we can stay longer and check out the local attractions.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed & clean room.
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a little small.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

After snowboarding at Mt Shasta, my boyfriend and I drove 10 miles south to the little town of Dunsmiur and found this lodge cheap and convenient. At first in the dark, the place looked a bit scary but as soon as I got inside my concerns disappeared. It had a huge king size bed with a nice quilt. The room had a quaint feel to it. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars was that the heater took a really really long time to warm the room and when I took a shower that night the hot water was only present for 3 minutes (for my bfriend in the AM, it lasted for probably 5-10min).

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — heater
  • Tips/Secrets — if going in the winter, get the heater cranked quick and high!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

The log cabins were on the small side compared to average hotel accomodation. However, the super king bed was superb. The accomodation is about 1/2 mile from downtown but the walk is very pleasant. If you require a quite stay this is recommended as ideal.

  • Liked — Large Super King Bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you visit the local waterfalls
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mealypied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
69 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
958 reviews
7.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
25 reviews
8.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
8.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsmuir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsmuir Lodge

Property: Dunsmuir Lodge
Address: 6604 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2626
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunsmuir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunsmuir Lodge is located 1/2 mi. south of the town of Dunsmuir, and just 15 minutes from Mt. Shasta Ski Park. It is located on 4.5 acres of land and has a beautiful meadow with trees and a view of the forest across the canyon behind the lodge. All rooms are on ground level with easy access to your vehicle(s). It is a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Pets are welcome, $10 extra per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunsmuir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsmuir Hotel Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing