We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back!!”
Review of Cedar Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We found this adorable motel by accident, but we loved everything about it. They went out of their way to help with anything we needed. Small room, which we really liked for a change, and very clean and comfortable. Had every thing we needed too, coffee, fridge, microwave etc. The outside was really neat too!! Had an aviary and coy pond which were nice to look at, out by a place to bbq or have a bonfire and play with kids or dogs, good size too!!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogergudgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent hotel for the price!! Quite inexpensive, quaint and cute exteriors, great staff, and amazing aviary and koi pond! The room was a bit small, as was the bathroom, but the room was clean, the bed was soft (a little too soft for us), and you could make the room very dark. The walls were a bit thin, but we only heard people next door for a couple minutes. Great value and awesome place to stay right off I-5!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having enjoyed the Cedar Lodge very much in July 2013, on a hiking weekend with a friend, I returned in mid-October with 3 other women friends to hike the area again during the fall colors. The motel was perfect for us for five nights. We took the large front room w/ full kitchen/bedroom/living room. Two queens in bedroom, trundle beds in living room. The whole place has been recently renovated. Everything is very clean and the garden and aviary are charming. Large parking lot under the cedar trees is ample for pickup trucks or cars w/ trailer. We parked right in front of our room. This is a traditional style mom and pop one-story motel which appeals to those of us who disdain multi-story cookie-cutter chains. Mike and Sylvia, the friendly British couple who own and run the place, live on site and take pride in pleasing their guests. Sylvia spent 20 minutes on her computer to find and print trail information for us. After our departure, she also searched the room for my friend's lost ring, found it, mailed it to her, and phoned my friend to be sure it was received. Dunsmuir is a quaint and historic town, convenient to Mt. Shasta, Castle Crags State Park, Burney Falls and many lakes and scenic places to explore. My friends and I plan to return often (from L.A.) and we will always look forward to a stay at Cedar Lodge.

Room Tip: The front one-bedroom w/ kitchen has its own private patio/garden w/ table and bbq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed a couple nights in october 2013 during the off season. The staff was very helpful and courteous. My room was basic, but nice and clean. No complaints at all. Got a good rate for my stay, AAA discount even though they are not a member. Easy reservation process on the phone too. Hotel is close to Hedge Creek falls too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwalb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Mid October 2013, it was immaculate, quiet, safe, high pressure shower, just wonderfull, carepets were recently replaced, new window covers, spacious rooms.
This place is operated by the original owners, a caring, intelligent, couple who stay next door to the Lodge.
Anything we requested, was immediately provided for us. The towels are all new and fluffy, good quality towels.
The rooms were adequetly lit with large windows, pleasant view, easy access to our car.
They have bird sanctuary in the back which is very pleasnat to look at or mediate around that area.
We really got our money's worth and then some.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afarin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Cedar Lodge for the second time in September and again I had a very clean and comfortable room with everything I needed including lovely fresh towels.
Whilst staying in the San Francisco Bay area I stayed at a Motel 6 and the room was not a patch on the Cedar Lodge. There were no coffee making facilities, an old TV and the bedding had what appeared to be burn holes.
Fortunately the Cedar Lodge room was not like this and proved to be great value for money, I would definitely recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Cozy rooms with space to be comfortable. Quiet and clean. The birds are very beautiful and add a little extra charm! Easy to find and get to from I-5. The rooms have fridge, microwave and TV with a fairly good selection of channels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spolcys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.5 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
114 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Dunsmuir
Travelodge Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
65 reviews
5.1 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 4201 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: £42 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO CEDAR LODGE MOTEL! 5 mins from mnt Shasta Located at Dunsmuir Avenue, on business loop 5, Cedar Lodge Motel offers quiet, comfortable accommodations for the traveler, whether traveling north or south. Conveniently located in the shadows of Mt. Shasta, in the heart of the Siskiyou play land, Cedar is one of the highest-ranked motels in the Dunsmuir area. It is a favorite for individuals, couples, families and groups alike. We have the right kind of rooms with the right amenities to meet all of your expectations. In addition, we offer a myriad of outdoor activities in the vicinity. SKIERS WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing