We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room but WiFi is Terrible”
Review of Cedar Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Picked this based on other reviews and overall rating as #2 in the area. The room is a clean one although dated, and I like the owner. However this is 2014 and 1.07 MB download and 0.25 MB upload does not qualify as actual WiFi -- rather it qualifies as false advertising, And in fact a second test showed 0.25 MB down and 0.125 MB upload.

Am I being too tough on them? I think not, especially when at least with ATT there i also only 1 bar of cell service. If I was camping in the woods this might be OK. Point is that there is essentially no way to connect with the world from this motel in a reasonable fashion.

The rest of the offering is typical of a budget hotel; although I stayed 45 minutes away in Yreka last night for $20 less. With good WiFi and cell service.

Room is clean, and the bathroom verges on immaculate. AC is OK (it was 100 degrees outside) with a small thru-wall unit that is on he noisy side, However no real complaints in these dimensions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello I am sorry you had problem with the wifi We have up graded since you were here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

fine room, and I checked in solo. I picked up family (1 adult 2 preteens) at the train station at 04:30 am and thanks to the hostess was able to return to the room, let the boys sleep and just hunker down till a more reasonable time to leave on our great adventure. Started out with a hike to the falls. Lovely beginning. and ThankXXX

Room Tip: the owner will help you get the best accomodations...just call her 530-235-4331. the aviary occupan...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the wonderful motel with super clean rooms (I am very picky when it comes to cleanness in hotels), excellent service and warm treatment by the owners, a couple that are originally from England.
Note for hikers, backpackers and thru hikers:We needed to be taken to a place where we planned to start hiking and to be picked at a certain place where we would end the hiking, so the owner gladly gave us a ride there and then picked us at the appointed place.
Very homey environment , TV with our favorite TCM channel, free wifi, refrigerator, microwave and air conditioning. Other very cute little details that make you feel like you are in Europe. A huge aviary in the yard(kids would love to watch all kids of parrots there ), a lot of spaces in the yard where one can relax, read a book, barbeque and so on). Very reasonable prices, considering that you will have everything you need in the motel and not overpaying for what you don't need..
Within 15 minutes of working distance there is Yaks, a restaurant, you will NEVER forget their food cooked from scratch. Next time we are in Dunsmuir, we will sure stay in the same hotel. If you plan to stop in Dunsmuir for night, go there, you will never regret!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "family" room with 2 queen beds plus 2 twins in living room. Good wifi, equipped kitchen (microwave no stove), 2 TVs, private patio w BBQ & table under cedar tree. Clean. Reasonable. Quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RickNSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My Wife and I had a 4 day getaway. So Happy we found this place to stay. Sylvia the owner is so sweet and helpful. The rooms are extremely clean,comfortable,inexpensive and peaceful sitting on the porch. I fly fish and will be spending all my visits to the Upper Sacramento River resting for my next day adventures here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was everything I look for: quiet, clean, VERY comfortable bed, big fluffy towels, and an air conditioner that cooled the room quickly. Like the other reviewers, I've stayed at other places in Dunsmuir, and the Cedar Lodge is by far the nicest. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel at the end of December last year on the way to the east of CA. The room is very clean and cozy. The owner is always there to make sure we have everything we need. The location is quite, surrounded by trees, yet very convenient.

We fell in love with this hotel and stayed at the hotel again on the way back home. We'll definitely stay there again if we pass by.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.5 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
72 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
31 reviews
4.0 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 4201 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO CEDAR LODGE MOTEL! 5 mins from mnt Shasta Located at Dunsmuir Avenue, on business loop 5, Cedar Lodge Motel offers quiet, comfortable accommodations for the traveler, whether traveling north or south. Conveniently located in the shadows of Mt. Shasta, in the heart of the Siskiyou play land, Cedar is one of the highest-ranked motels in the Dunsmuir area. It is a favorite for individuals, couples, families and groups alike. We have the right kind of rooms with the right amenities to meet all of your expectations. In addition, we offer a myriad of outdoor activities in the vicinity. SKIERS WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing