We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt tinges of racism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt tinges of racism”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the past 13 years and this was the worst experience ever. Two staff members - Robbie and James - were rude right from the first moment that they saw us without any interaction prior to that. The food we got was wrong and late on several occasions and we kept being asked if we were 'still' going to continue staying there.
The only logical reason we could think of was probably racism as our skin is not white.
They did not clean our rooms for the first 2 days and despite few reminders on the 3rd day, I had to find the cleaning lady myself and tell her about it after which she reluctantly cleaned it.

Room Tip: Avoid if you don't want to be judged on your skin color
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesiTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The Oak Tree Inn has policies and expectations regarding how we treat guests and fellow employees. We serve all guests equally and with the goal to provide an experience that would prompt guest loyalty and return stays. We could not expect to stay in business if we did not do this. Our nearly 30 year company history would support this. We will investigate and address the situation you describe and take any necessary action. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    27
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
17
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Not worth the more than $100 we spent for one night. It took 20 minutes for the poor woman working on Christmas Eve to find our reservation and give us keys, and the first set of keys wouldn't even open the room. The toilet clogged easily, the sheets were a bit dirty, and the whole room was a little dingy and run down. The room could be made dark, as advertised, but nothing special, and the room wasn't any quieter than any other motel, even though it was advertised as extremely quiet. The view from the room and parking lot were lovely and the breakfast at Penny's Diner was amazing (included with the room price were two breakfast vouchers good for $8 toward any breakfast item on the menu, which was by far the best part of our stay).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize that the accomodations did not meet your expectations. It is our goal that all guests are treated with quality service and accommodations at a fair price. We will investigate the items you noted and internally address them with our staff in order to improve and achieve the consistency we seek and try to offer.

It is our goal and expectations that all guests are provided with the best hotel experience available, and would be honored to have you choose to stay again in the future. Please call us direct the next time you have a need in the area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple City, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My son recently moved to this area, and my wife and I stayed here on a recent visit. This is a newer property -- about 7 years old -- with an adjacent 24-hour diner which doubles as the front-desk.

Parking is close and convenient. The rooms are clean, and comfortable, with a few above-average features:

1. The black-out drapes are the best I've ever seen. The seams between the two sides are held closed with magnets, and the bottom of the drapes are held in place by a metal runner. The net effect is nearly total darkness in the room no matter the time of day. For people who like to sleep in while traveling, this seemingly minor amenity was really great.
2. The free Wifi had an excellent signal, and didn't drop once our whole stay. At many hotels, even ones at a higher price point, the wifi is barely tolerable, and will drop very hour or so, forcing a fresh login.
3. Instead of the standard early morning breakfast buffet, they provide a voucher for use in the adjacent 24-hour restaurant. Again, for travelers who like to sleep in, this means you don't have to rush down at 9:25am to grab the last scraps from the buffet. You can visit the restaurant any time, day or night, and use your meal voucher for $8 per-person off your meal. The first day, we wound up having lunch around noon, and the second day we had breakfast around 11:00am, and each time the final bill was just a couple of dollars over the value of the vouchers because of extra-cost items we ordered. This setup worked very well for us.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms face the freeway and railroad tracks, and can be noisy, but it's more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Right on I-5 just outside Dunsmuir. Tucked away in the trees so no highway noise, triple pane windows. Very clean and comfortable. Diner on property serving a good free breakfast using a coupon. Will stay again when the need arises. Dunsmuir is a nice little town, glad we stopped and explored.

Room Tip: No elevators so if stairs are difficult or impossible, make sure you get a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for one night on our way up I-5. We booked late and this was the only place available in Dunsmuir, so I didn't have high hopes, but it turned out to be just fine. It is right off I-5, so it's easy to find, and less than 5 minutes drive to the main part of town. It is either new or recently remodeled, and very clean. The beds are somewhat firm but very comfortable; pillows a little bit too large and firm but that is my complaint almost everywhere. We like to have our window open so we were able to hear the freeway, but I noticed that with the windows closed, we couldn't hear it at all, and the air conditioner seemed to work well. The staff, especially Barbara, were friendly and accommodating. Our room was on the second floor and there's no elevator, and there were no grab bars in the bathroom, so not perfect for those with mobility issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 'just a bed while traveling'. The rate was excellent and included ONE free breakfast per room -- a convenient ploy to get you to stay for breakfast.... Nonetheless, the room was basic, basically clean, quiet enough and served our purpose. For me, it was MUCH better than camping in October which my husband may have preferred.

We checked in late -- almost 11:00 pm and the chef-manager-front desk-jack-of-all-trades was accommodating. Breakfast in the morning at the adjacent diner was greasy and yummy in a good way. We asked for extra crispy hash browns and got just what we wanted!

All in all, The Oak Tree Inn is NOT luxurious. It is a basic value and good enough for me...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyKolbTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

In the middle of snow storm this hotel was a God sent. Rooms were clean plus breakfast at 24 hour restaurant was included. There is a fitness room and lounge area. NOTE: There is no lobby in hotel you will need to go over to restaurant to check in. During snow the parking lot and entrance is plowed. Good Value especially when your choice are limited in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
980 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
27 reviews
6.8 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
4.1 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir

Property: Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Address: 4000 Siskiyou Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1931
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing