We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I spent 4 or 5 days at inn & Suites few weeks ago and I was very impressed with price/ quality of the place!
I normal spend some days on that area to ski @ Shasta and normal I stay in Mt. Shasta city but always lacks the part of lodging because the hotel are not that great and they charge always $100 or more per night.
This time we stayed in Dunsmuir 8 miles south and the place was clean, nice hot water showers and the price was $79.00 and I really liked!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed here during the super busy July 4th weekend.. Bunch of us were riding our motorcycles and this was one of the cheapest places we found.

Nothing fancy.. Rooms were old-ish but were good enough. clean bathrooms, wifi had some issues at times and I had to walk around to get a "good" reception spot.

Dunsmuir is a little town right by I5. The charming old town and it's cafes and restaurants are few minutes of walking away. Things do shut down early and if you end up here late night, you may have to drive around and look for a fast-food joint or whatever the little "deli" serves near the gas station.

Unless you want to stay down south in Redding for better hotels or up north in the town of Weed, this is your choice.. If you are planning to explore Mt. Shasta area, this is a convenient place to stay.

Last stayed here Stayed here in July 2008

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were heading through this beautiful area and needed a place to stop as t was getting late. This is a quirky little town and the motel style accommodation is what you might expect. No frills, nice people, a good bed and although just off the Interstate 5 there was no traffic noise. It may not be a destination, but if you find yourself in this beautiful area and need a place to stay at a fair price it's a good choice.

Room Tip: Maybe plan to have breakfast at a local cafe.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetravellots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The manager was very courteous and thoughtful. The rooms are hyper clean and the fridge, microwave, hot water, excellent WiFi just made the value so extreme. The location was perfect walking distance to 2 pubs and an assortment of eateries. I'll be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I haved stayed at the Dunsmuir Inn and Suites many times over the last 3 years and am sure this is the best motel in Dunsmuir. The rooms are super clean with comfortable beds and WiFi. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and special. Dunsmuir is mainly a tourist town these days with the season lasting thru the summer months. That being the case, the owners work especially hard to ensure that guests will return whenever they are traveling in the area. So, what makes a guest return? A high quality product, good value, and friendly service. The owners of the Inn appreciate their guests and want you to return so they work hard to make it happen. I have never been disappointed-you won't be either. Give them a try the next time you travel through Dunsmuir.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've stayed here many times over the past few years and I love it!! It's everything a good motel should be. Clean, comfortable, quite and economical. The owners are always helpful and friendly. I've read other reviews lamenting the fact that the motel is a great place to stay but that's it, no other amenities! Well folks, Dunsmuir is a tiny town pretty much forgotten my time. You stop there because you are driving somewhere else on interstate 5 between California and Oregon. At the end of the day, you're tired and you just want a clean, comfortable and cheap place to lay your head for the night.... That's the Dunsmuir Inn! If you like sleepy little towns stay awhile, the fishing is great!!!! If you want to pay $200 a night and have lots of activities head east on Hwy 89 less then a mile from Dunsmuir in 3 or 4 hours you'll be in Reno!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It was clean but the managers wife was not friendly.I asked for 4 towels & she said you already have some. I had to explain my daughter needs two for her long hair & I do too. She gave me attitude & said I'll give you 3. She made me feel like I was trying to steal them? Not cool!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
105 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
1.4 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
74 reviews
6.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
31 reviews
7.4 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel

Address: 5400 Dunsmuir Ave., Dunsmuir, CA 96025 (Formerly Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsmuir Travel Lodge
Dunsmuir Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing