We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not a great location and not up to Four Seasons expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Good points: fabulous service, good business rooms, working internet. Bad points: pricey, very expensive internet (which should be free in Silicon Valley of all places).

The rest is about things that were good, but should just be better in the Four Seasons. It was more like a Hilton or Hyatt, and the location next to the 101 is not ideal. The gym is very disappointing - small and without much equipment. The swimming pool is fine but for a Four Seasons I'd even expect better there. There is no sauna (surprising omission) but the steam room was good. The spa shuts quite early (10pm) and when it does there is no changing room or steam room access.

Breakfast buffet is very small and was visually unexciting - again, I would expect more from the Four Seasons. Go a la carte for breakfast unless you want a lot of cereal.

The lounge areas have a corporate feel and the outdoor seating area tries to have a bit of greenery but can't escape the concrete jungle feeling.

All in - an ok experience and provides the Four Seasons service level but otherwise falls short of the Four Seasons experience. Not brilliantly located for Palo Alto. By all means stay here if the other major hotels in Palo Alto are full and you will be well looked after, but don't go expecting a usual Four Seasons experience and don't expect it to deliver value for money.

Room Tip: Courtyard view. Avoid anything overlooking the 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison T, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as we are always looking for ways to improve aesthetics along with our service and dining.

We share your vision for gym enhancements and are currently in the process of renovating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice hotel with all the amenities that you might look for. Was there on a business trip, room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful! Our cab driver got lost, making us late for our meeting .. Since the doorman set up with a cab from out front THEY apologized and bought us a round! No way their fault, but t thought it was great customer relations! Hotel is spotless, nice bar restaurant , and a friendly staff! It's about a 35 min drive from San Francisco .. So if you plan on visiting SF put in time for a commute. Other than that a pretty close to perfect stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms look to be good we were on 8 and had a view of the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigron452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As my daughter goes to Stanford and I have business in the area, I visit the FS Palo Alto quite a bit. I have to tell you that the FS Palo Alto consistently exceeds my expectations. From the professional Valet guys handing me my room key, to the front desk accommodating my every wish including going out and getting me a DVD of the movie Jaws from the 70's to watch, to the restaurant that never stops trying harder to be the best they can be, to the pool and spa area being meticulously clean which is consistent throughout the whole hotel by the way, to the people throughout the hotel greeting me by my name, I have to say, this is one of the finest places to stay in the country, if not the world. Whether you need San Francisco or local Palo Alto reservations or tickets, or just a rental car, the Four Seasons Palo Alto Staff magically makes just about anything happen that you could possible dream of. DM

Room Tip: They're ALL good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 773DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room (a suite) was very nice, quiet with a modern decor and up to the Four Season's standards. As other reviewers have said, the gym was small. There is a nice size pool and jacuzzi on a roof top of the hotel. The day spa has a variety of but pricey treatments. The restaurant is excellent and offered amazing service. You are located right next to downtown Palo Alto, but a car or taxi is required to the restaurants and shopping. The hotel is right off the freeway, but noise was never an issue. It is located in a business office complex and across the freeway from East Palo Alto, but safety is not an issue at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynstersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Well equipped rooms, with luxurious bathrooms being especially notable. Friendly, professional service and excellent Italian-inspired dining according to Four Seasons standards. Other amenities include small, nice rooftop pool and complementary coffee/pastries in lobby in the morning. Unremarkable location in middle of office park adjacent to 101 Highway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is an extension of the office rather than an escape from it; the hotel corridors look like those in an office building! The spacious rooms have minimalist (office like) furnishings, which makes it feel even more spacious.

The gym was disappointing. It's carpeted and the carpet is worn and dirty looking. That just doesn't seem very sanitary in a place designed for sweating. The gym is small, a seeming afterthought versus the pool (which I didn't get to use but it sounded nice - salt water, body temperature). There is the usual assortment of cardio machines and a good collection of hand weights and some weight machines. The spa was closed when i went, so there was no access to the shower or changing facilities.

As others have noted, this hotel is in an inconvenient location; you can see it from the 101, but it's hard to access from the 101. So you get the eyesore of the 101 without easy access to / from it. Noise is not a problem though.

There is nothing to eat or drink in the area. It is in an office park with a bunch of law firms, and the deli closes once those folks leave. Once I finally figured out how to get to the hotel from the highway, I didn't have the energy to navigate going across the 101 and into town for a bite to eat.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Expect to pay Four Seasons prices but the building restrictions in the Valley mean this hotel is not well situated as most Four Seasons properties are. I thought being close to the 101 would make it easier to get around the valley, but it seems everything is 30 minutes away no matter where you stay. I will stay elsewhere next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzmeowus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison T, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the feedback from your stay and apologize that the gym was disappointing. We are currently in the process of renovating our gym and hope you'll be able to utilize the upgrades if you return.

Quattro is a full service restaurant open 6:30 AM - 10PM daily located adjacent to the hotel lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved our time at this hotel. The service level was excellent, from the moment the Bellman opened the door to the Check-out. It was certainly one of the best service experiences I had in a long time.

The location is the only thing not so good about this property, as it is isolated in a business area. It's not far from downtown Palo Alto or Stanford, but you can't go walking. Thankfully you can catch a ride with the house car, if it's available. We managed to use it only one time, but the driver was also very nice.

The pool area, even though it was in renovations, was very nice. The ambient light and the cabanas create a special atmosphere. The water temperature was perfect one day, but chilly on the other. The locker room areas were spotless and full of amenities, including a gentleman's lounge. This adds to a great experience.

The included wi-fi was a welcome surprise and it worked very well. When we call about a minor issue with it, it was resolved straight away in a pleasant manner. We also loved the bathroom decor, the amenities and the bathtub TV.

The restaurant on the premises is nice, but overpriced. The food was good but not anything special, so be aware you can order from the room service menu as well, which offer more options than the regular menu. The iPads as drink menus were a nice touch.

This may be different from your regular Four Seasons experience, but it was by no means disappointing. We would gladly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstroJunq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Palo Alto
1.6 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
1.8 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
1,045 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,072 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Sand Hill
Rosewood Sand Hill
#3 of 10 in Menlo Park
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto

Address: 2050 University Ave, East Palo Alto, CA 94303-2248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > East Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Palo Alto
Price Range: £208 - £743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley At East Palo Alto
Four Seasons East Palo Alto
East Palo Alto Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing