We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relax Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This place is terrible...I had booked a non smoking room and received a smoking room at checkin. This room smelled so bad that my daughter and i became ill and all our clothes reeked of cigarette smoke. Because we were staying a few days...i asked the manager for a non smoking room. He said none were available ( even though on the way to the office, i passed a non smoking room that was empty). This place sucks dont stay here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We needed an affordable suite with two bedrooms and this offered exactly that. It was close to where we needed to be and the staff was accommodating. The suite was alright but could use some attention...namely, there were no hangers, the lighting was dim, outlets don't hold plugs for appliances (old and loose), none of the three heater/air conditioners worked, no ironing board, vanity light worked only sporadically and towels were threadbare. There was a safe in the suite but no key. The staff did provide a table lamp when we inquired about more light (I was doing some hand sewing for a wedding). It was nice to have a sofa, table and chairs in addition to the microwave and mini-frig. Relax Inn provides 10% discount vouchers for Denny's which is across the parking lot.

Room Tip: It might be best to request an upstairs room. We were downstairs and it was noisy from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sewkraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After reading reviews, this place sounded pretty good, but was just barely okay. Pros: Inexpensive, friendly staff Cons: Right by the very noisy freeway, no irons or hair driers, little or no hot water, continental breakfast was cold cereal and coffee, threadbare towels,old bathroom and dodgy WiFi.,

Room Tip: They all face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelerSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Relax Inn in October 2013. I was there for a business trip. I got there late in the middle of the night but the manager was kind and helpful. The room-carpets, bedding were clean and in good condition. Especially for the price. Its close to the freeway as well as fast food restaurants and a 7 eleven.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bheyer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at Relax Inn. Manager very helpful at all times, room excellent for budget accomodation; clean and quiet. Relax Inn is located close to Trolley Car station and next door to two restaurants for easy access to transport and meals. No hesitation on staying there again. Sandra, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatsupdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed in one of the second floor rooms. Old furniture. Cracked tiles in the bathroom. Lumpy pillows and old linen. Old TV. Very slow wi-fi. Road noise from the freeway. I am glad that we stayed for only one night. There are other places. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room that was given me was on the second floor. Even being next to the freeway, except for the A/C noise it was very quiet. The room had been just refurbished, new paint, carpet and bathroom. I stayed for 3 nights and look forward to coming back next September.

The only negative was the lack of water pressure in the shower, plenty of hot water but very low pressure.

Room Tip: Two story motel, so 2nd floor is always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.8 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
2.6 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
3.6 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn and Suites

Address: 1220 W Main St, El Cajon, CA 92020-4110
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service.Location is close to Sycuan Casino, as well as Barona Casino, Not too far from Downtown, the Gaslamp District which is filled with restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, museums and PETCO PARK home of San Diego Padres. The hotel is not far from the cultural Balboa Park, The San Diego Zoo, shopping (Parkway Plaza), and San Diego Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available, and Swimming Pool. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relax Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel El Cajon
Relax Motel El Cajon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing