We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Surprise!”
Review of P2 Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
P2 Restaurant
Ranked #188 of 318 Restaurants in El Cajon
Cuisines: American, Asian
Restaurant details
El Cajon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Surprise!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We live close to the restaurant and watched it get started and always said we should try it but didn't get around to it till tonight.

I read the reviews submitted by others and was intrigued. Rather than wait, after reading I told my husband that we were going to try P2 tonight. I read him the reviews and he was equally intrigued.

No disappoints! The restaurant was nice inside (and smelled incredible from the cooking food), the servers were charming and the food was wonderful! We shared the Garlic Edamame and Eggrolls for appetizers (could gave stopped there and been satisfied) and then I ordered the House Salad and Salt and Pepper Wings and my husband had the Baked White Fish.

Oh my goodness - so much food BUT so good! We will be returning and already thinking of who to invite to join us for our next dinner date at P2.

Helpful?
2 Thank 6907marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem-Must try!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This place is great. The portions are large and very reasonably priced. The chicken and vegetables in our dishes were fresh and perfectly cooked. The service was personable and efficient, and the waitress anticipated our needs. The food arrived hot and in generous portions. almost all of the chicken dishes are made with white meat. The people next to us were exclaiming over how good the hamburgers were. the restaurant is decorated nicely inside and the rest rooms are clean.Do not let the older exterior of the building fool you. Great value. the prices really should be higher.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steph500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food! Awesome service!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We visited this place for the first and we were very impressed by the food and service. Food was very fresh, tasted delicious. We had a couple types of spring rolls, some walnut shrimp, fried rice, and soup. It was all excellent. The service was great too....very prompt and friendly. This place is nothing fancy from outside, but food and service inside was top notch in our opinion. We will definitely come back when in the El Cajon area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicknlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“P2 Restaurant Asian & American Cuisine”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were heading home a week ago and saw a sign for P2 Restaurant Asian & American Cuisine to our right and almost missed this place heading North on N. Second St. since it sits tucked off the road in a slant, but we saw it all the same. We had been looking for an Asian restaurant since moving to this area for sometime now and we wanted one closer than Santee. We looked at some of the reviews and everyone one had great things to say about the place so we decided to give it a try. I had my son come along with us since he loves Asian food and that's the only time he feels comfortable using chopstick in public.

When we arrive just before 4 p.m. and pulled into the private parking lot it was large with handicapped parking. Once inside we noticed that the place was very clean and had plenty of seating available with both standard height and tall tables. There were also large televisions on the walls in a couple of areas. We were greeted immediately by our server Mary who is very friendly and informative. We were seated and our drink orders taken. The ice tea was marvelous it had some kind of light jasmine flavor infused into it.

Our order was the Crispy Salt and Pepper Wings for $10.95 which had 14 very larger crispy battered chicken wings toasted with salt and pepper, fried garlic and crushed red peppers served with jasmine rice and thinking that with all that pepper it would be spicy, it wasn't it was very mild even the wife and son liked it and they are not fans of anything spicy. We also ordered the Pineapple Short Ribs for $11.95 which were beef short ribs in a honey pineapple BBQ marinate grilled with sliced onions with a sprinkle of roasted sesame seeds on a sizzling plate with a side of jasmine rice, it was fantastic. Also ordered was Teriyaki Beef Bowl for $6.95 which is marinated sliced New York beef grilled with butter served over steamed rice and covered with Teriyaki sauce and accompanied with steamed vegetables. It too was great. At the end of our meal we were offered a complimentary dessert of either green tea ice cream or coconut ice cream and we choose the coconut which was coconut and chunks of pineapple mixed together very yummy.

I can now see why everyone wrote such great reviews about P2 Restaurant Asian & American Cuisine. Great food, great service and great value. I know we will be going back soon. If you ever get a chance to go here you won't be disappointed, I promise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jsikes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to P2 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing