We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here once when San Diego had no open rooms. Had to slide my credit card thru a bullet proof window. Room had carvings on the head board, mirror was also scratched with grafiti. Room smelled horrible. Had originally booked for three days, but left after the first night because I couldn't handle another day in this he'll hole.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I am not going to even go into details except to stay this is not worth any money or your time. I was absolutely shocked when I checked into this motel after I read all of the nice reviews about this motel. I stay in a variety of hotels, motels and travel everywhere and am a go with the flow kind of person; however this motel compromised my safety, which is why I suggest you to think through this motel choice. If you are visiting San Diego or the nearby area, I would suggest you to consider a motel/hotel in a safer area points east or west. There are nicer motels and hotels farther away from this area. I am still in awe of some of the stunning reviews this motel received from other reviewers, unfortunately this was not the reality of my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TucsonWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

this was a non smoking room, easy access for parking, have complimentary continental breakfast, there's also a Denny's right next door. very convenient to everything

Room Tip: carpets could use a cleaning, and the coffee pot didn't work very well , the carafe got stuck wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriskGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed two nights in a business class room, which I understand is the same as a suite but with nicer bedding. The room was clean and appears to have been upgraded recently with framed mirrors and granite topped night stands and vanities. The internet was fast and reliable, the pool actually looked pretty nice, and the breakfast was middle of the road (waffles, hard boiled eggs, two cereals, selection of breads, juice and coffee). The property is well maintained and the staff is friendly. If you are staying in El Cajon, it will be in a motel, and this is a nice choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliketropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Reasonably priced. Clean and quiet. Easy access to the freeway. Friendly staff. The downside is even though I was in a non-smoking room, there was a faint smell of smoke. It could be due to all the smokers leaving their doors open or smoking outside.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Disneyfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Stayed here due to its proximity to Cleveland National Forest and the PCT. Overall, a decent hotel for the money, rooms clean and spacious, bed was super comfortable, breakfast was so/so, AC was dirty and made wierd noise, stain on a towel, and water pressure was horrible. If you are going to the recreational areas east of San Diego this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamburgerler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times for about 20 years-since it was Plaza International. Days Inn bought the property and upgraded the rooms but the cost almost doubled. Aside from that, the beds are comfy, the room is spacious has a fridge, microwave, safe, coffee maker. AC can be noisy but white noise so it drowns out any outside noise & I-8 traffic.

Quick 20 minute drive to beaches and a big mall north on Mollison to Broadway & turn left so not very far at all. Dennys in the parking lot is convenient. Not the best neightborhood but our family likes it.

Daughter had laptop & wifi was really quick. Shower head is low but sprays really good. Vanity is separate from tub/toilet so you can close door to toilet & bath area. The jacuzzi is awesome and indoors. Pool is 5 ft deep and not bad at all. My kids have been swimming in this pool since they were toddlers. I guess we're creatures of habit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slajmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.1 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
4 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
850 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
0.7 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon

Address: 683 N Mollison Ave, El Cajon, CA 92021-5619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn El Cajon
El Cajon Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing