We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise in the middle of the night”
Review of Sycuan Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sycuan Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
968 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“A Surprise in the middle of the night”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was drifting through El Cajon and needed a room for the night. I looked all over El Cajon, and. Opulent find anything that I was going to be confident in. Went by a few local motels, usual druggies hanging out. Checked out the Sycuan Golf and Tennis resort. Now don't let the name fool you. I never saw the golf course, however I walked in got a great rate, a great room, and they have security on property making rounds. It was safe. I was so pleasantly surprised that I returned a week later on business and stayed there again. Great Staff, great clean room with tons of amenities. Old style two story buildings, quiet. Nice accommodations

Room Tip: I had a corner room, was very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycuanManagement, Manager at Sycuan Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
We are a glad you found your way to us that night AND returned for another stay! Let us know how can can further enhance your future stay and we hope to accommodate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    51
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
53
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is the old Singing Hills golf course. It is a mature course with lots and lots of trees. Literally every fairway has trees on both sides. It's not my favorite course in So Cal (not even top 50) but it's worth the greens fees if you're in the area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RSinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This place is funky. Kind of has that old school, retro vibe. My buddy and I booked a suite for a weekend golf outing and found it to be quite impressive. Yes, the old brick and mortar walls have a fresh coat of off-white paint and new contemporary furnishings but the attraction is the golf, truth be told. This property has the best Executive Course I have ever played and we had the added luxury of having our single story suite open up to the finishing holes. Nice place for a weekend.

Room Tip: Check out Echo Lounge and have your meals in there, you'll feel like a "member."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have been visiting this property for many years. The golf courses are in perfect condition and the pace of play during the week is acceptable. I would recommend either the "Willow or Oak" golf course for an enjoyable experience.
We like to stay and dine at the Sycuan Resort without leaving, but lately at the " Sycuan Grille" the food preperation has very poor with a limited menu selection. Do yourself a favor and pass on the resturant. We are now dining in El Cajon or San Diego.

Room Tip: "Don't stay in a lower room" as the upper rooms create al loud drum effect from foot s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Lets start with the good first. I played all the courses here and all of them are very scenic. They maintain the fairways and greens. If I remember right Willow Glen was the most challenging as it had the most narrow fairways. You had to be dead on accurate with your tee shot if you want to shoot well. Sycuan also has the best golf carts out there. Built in GPS and it has all the bells and whistles. There are rangers on the course and they are very friendly.

That staff member at the club house are very friendly. They also have a very nice driving range plus a Taylor made fitting facility.

The dining room was also very well kept and staffed with friendly waiters and waitresses. Their breakfast was extremely good. Good place to eat before teeing off.

On to the bad stuff. If you are staying at this resort the reception at the front desk was less than friendly. I can hardly blame them as they are probably bored sitting in this little room waiting for their guests to arrive.

Their rooms are a little out dated. They will have in walls air conditioning units that are loud. Their bathroom is so large and a big waste of space. You have a stand up stall shower. The rest of the bathroom is open space. The walls were pretty thin as well. You can clearly hear your next door guests.

I didn't come here for the room but for the golf. You will not be disappointed for their courses.

As for the casino. The casino is not on the golf resort. It is 3 miles away. This place is full of smoke. Just a word of warning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigapple05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very rarely do you find a place where yes is the answer to everything you ask ! Yes you can change rooms or look at them first, yes you can play a fivesome, yes you can smoke, yes you can take the cart to the room sure does make for a pleasant stay. Reasonably priced and genuinely a good value from check in to check out. Golf course was challenging (4 tee boxes), food was good, drinks were good, casino was good (not because we won ! ) and overall a good experience

Room Tip: Always choose a corner room, there bigger !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is my 3rd year where we stayed as a large group (8 this year, 10 previous). It has become our home base for our 7 days in April. El Cajon is located NE of the San Diego airport, about a 40 minute drive. Be prepared for a big of hassling if you are renting a vehicle. You take a shuttle bus from the airport to the rental site and then line up at the counter. You really need to shop around and compare prices. We've used Dollar, Budget, and Fox and went with the lowest rate each year. Vehicles and counter service seemed to be the same quality.

We use the Stay and Unlimited Play every 2nd day. Power carts are included but both Oak Glen and Willow Glen are walkable. We like to walk in the morning and cart in the afternoon. Bring a sweater or vest as it's cool in the morning but quickly warms up by 11 AM. On alternate days we visit other golf courses - Steele Canyon, Barona, Salt Creek. These are link style courses that require a power cart since many holes have extreme elevation changes. A nice variation from the relatively flat Sycuan courses. At Sycuan you can buy a practice range golf ball card for the week and there is a great short game area and several putting greens.

The staff, in particular, Veronica and Virginia in the restaurant and Jan in the bar lounge are always smiling and congenial. As hockey fans from Canada, we have our restaurant dinner in the bar where we can gather around a large TV screen and watch the NHL playoffs. Other reviews about the renovated rooms are accurate - large, clean, comfortable.

If there was one thing they could improve it's the WiFi connection. No free service but a 24-hr $9.99 fee provided by Ethostream. If you are coming from, Canada the roaming charges are ridiculous so be sure to take out a temporary US data plan before leaving.

Room Tip: We don't mind being placed at the far end of resort. There is a putting green which is not part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
3.0 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
143 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
792 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
11.1 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycuan Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf Resort

Property: Sycuan Golf Resort
Address: 3007 Dehesa Rd, El Cajon, CA 92019-2806
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycuan Golf Resort is located in the serene Dehesa Valley, just 20 minutes east of San Diego International Airport. Our relaxing property features 54 holes of Ted Robinson-designed golf nestled among 425 acres of resort accommodations, Red Tail Grill and Echo's Lounge, and the relaxing Primrose Spa. Each of our 100 guest rooms and suites features a view of the golf courses or swimming pools. Sycuan Casino is a short 3 miles away and is accessible by complimentary shuttle. As San Diego's only 3-course golf resort, Sycuan invites you to enjoy the variety of golf and resort amenities we offer, in a picturesque, relaxing location. Sycuan Golf Resort offers all the accommodations and amenities you would expect from a first class destination resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sycuan Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing