We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Continental Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I normally stay at Best Western when I travel but this is the worst place I believe I have ever stayed. Don't stay here unless you like having no hot water, tubs that don't drain, rooms that smell bad and rooms that do not cool down in the summer even with the air conditioner at its coldest setting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Glen953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location was great but that's about all. The first room that assigned smelled of smoke really bad the toilet didn't work nor did the lights and fan in the restroom. They did move us but the second room wasn't very clean, part of the carpet was wet and the table looked like someone just ate off of it. The shower water would go hot - cold - hot - cold but nice pressure. The toilet paper was recycled paper so it would stay with you if you're not careful (if you know what I mean).
Nice location for what I needed but I got to say the Worst Best Western I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great Price and located close to San Diego attractions. Friendly caring staff. Easy Access to Freeway. This is not my first stay at this location and will certainly my first choice when in the San Diego east county

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located less than 20 minutes from everything in SD. They have a pool and hot tub, breakfast, and friendly folks. They are right off the 8 and have a Dennys across the street. There are a variety of room types with good cable and flat screens. The rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. This location is often less busy than the others and still has availability as town starts to book up. I have been coming here for years and will be back for years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff was extremely helpful with everything. We changed rooms after the first night (due to traffic noise) and were offered a suite for the same price as our regular room! Hotel was very clean and amenities were modern. My only complaint was the speed/strength of the internet. I couldn't use it at all, even after it had been fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

this Iproperty is being renovated and is in a good location at the freewaw, breakfast was basic and there was enough to go around, the management was helpful and courteous.a good deal at a fair price inside of the city

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDDIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The room smelled, was dirty and the hot water fluctuated during shower. Controls on a/c didn't work, one had to be taken off and adjusted with a screw driver. Ice machine was broken the last two days there. Had to ask for sausage for breakfast. It was kept in another room. They only brought out two per person. Not sure what they would have said if we had asked for more. On par with Motel 6.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.2 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
4.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
841 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus La Mesa San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Continental Inn

Address: 650 N Mollison Ave, El Cajon, CA 92021-5618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: £72 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Continental Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Continental Hotel El Cajon
Best Western El Cajon
El Cajon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing