We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Yucca Valley
2 reviews
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My family and I were completely dissatisfied with our stay this hotel and will not stay here again nor will we recommend it. The room itself stunk with the smell of cigarettes, so bad that it gave me a headache upon entering it. The blankets on the bed had cigarette burns on them and were poorly patched. There were permanent residents living in the hotel rooms and loitering outside in a threating and unwelcoming manner. The hotel staff was rude when I brought up my concerns and did nothing to put me at ease. The continental breakfast was nothing like it described on the website. The eggs, were hard boiled eggs sitting in a fridge and the toaster did not work properly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    31
    21
    21
    25
See reviews for
59
31
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Shouldn't be a Best Western. Stayed on 2nd floor, some kids must have been left alone above usbecause at midnight they were jumping, running and generally creating havoc. Parents came back about 45 minutes later and they settled down somewhat but still lots of loud voices. I should have called the front but my husband slept through it and I didn't want to wake him up as well.. The continental breakfast was in a wee room behind the office. A "resident" of the motel came in while we were having toast and filled her hoody and pockets with anything and everything. She came a 2nd time and grabbed 5 milks and more pizza pockets. Having longterm renters kinda brings it down. Sketchy neighorhood. They have reno'd and it's as nice as they can make it but an old building. Lots of noise from complex behind. Gentleman who came on at 7am was very helpful and nice. Older lady who checked us in was also nice but appeared suspicious of us?, might have been her way?
Wouldn't stay in this place again. If not for the neighbours above us and the odd woman who clearly was pilfering from the breakfast area it have been OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

filthy carpeting turned my white socks black. tiny breakfast room. wifi service iffy. definetly not up to the usual standards of most best western hotels. i know its january but the pool wasn't clean either and Canadians like to use pools in the south during winter

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere,ca, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

i had a great time here!! got a great night of sleep so i changed the name from bestwestern to bestrestern.lol the beds here are so comfy ahhhhhhhh!!!!i would recommend it to all my friends,family and everyone who asks for a nice hotel come on down and see for yourself

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel after receiving a free $50 travel card online from Best Western....was clean, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast was good and the overall appearance of the hotel and the room was very good....would recommend it for the value it was a very good deal...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The service was excellent especially my second night because my room was changed due to noise from the first night I really appreciated John arranging transportation for my night out. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAVERNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DESIREE M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Laverne,

I appreciate you taking the time to send such kind words! I will pass along your praise to John. We do recognize him as a very valuable employee! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My third stay. Nice, clean, quiet. Front desk personnel are polite and accommodating. Rooms have nice flat screen TVs, fridge, microwave, hairdryer. King beds are fine. No smoking. Convenient to the Tecate border crossing

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DESIREE M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Carol,

Thank you for such a positive review! I am pleased that we are able to continuously provide you with the excellent comfort and service that we strive for and we can't wait have you as a guest again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
3.0 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
Address: 1355 East Main Street, El Cajon, CA 92021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Cajon
El Cajon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing