We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-smoking rooms cost extra? Great stay though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked a stay last minute as I decided to come to the area earlier to avoid travel traffic before the holidays. I just booked the first standard room that came up and didn't think much of it. It turns out that the standard rooms are smoking rooms?

Non-smoking rooms are regarded as upgrades? And therefore there is an extra charge. I think this is a terrible policy and that as a non-smoker you are more likely to look after and not damage property so why charge non-smokers more? That being said when I arrived the manager did kindly allow me to have a non-smoking room and did not charge me extra for it so I was very grateful.

The room was big, clean and more than suitable for a few nights. In my room there were iron burn marks on the carpet but it's not the hotel's fault that there is this damage, it's the guests. You cannot expect the hotel to replace the whole carpet but in general I could see the hotel does care about it's appearance and general maintenance as there was evidence of recent improvements throughout the property. The hot tub was HOT and had good jets and I enjoyed using it.

There was supposedly a free breakfast included in the rate but I didn't see any evidence of where this was and was not told anything about it on check-in. There was nothing in the lobby area.

The hotel is a motel style and is set behind a busy road and garage with a rather loud car wash! The car was was only open during the day though so it wasn't an issue. There was plenty of parking available. In all I have no problems in recommending this place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comments, and sorry for any confusion our smoking room and non smoking rooms have same rates, the rates are different for different room types. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites, I agree they are spacious and has all the amenities one needs to be comfortable. We like to thank you for posting photos of the room and the pool, they look great.

Thanks

Dipti Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay for 4 or 5 nights while in town, and decided to book this Howard Johnson's on line. When I arrived at the hotel, I discovered that it was situated behind a 24 hour car wash, a taco restaurant, and a gas station with a convenience market. Although the property was clean, I was a bit worried about the surrounding neighborhood.
The room was spacious and clean, but it has been a while since it was last refurbished... older model TV that only got about 15 channels, the room needed painted and new carpet, as well as other minor maintenance issues.
The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, hair blower/dryer, iron and ironing board, and a built in 2 burner stove top. The property also had an ice machine, a clothes washer and dryer, pool and hot tub, both with handicapped chair to assist in getting in and out of both.
My stay was okay, but the neighborhood made me feel uneasy the whole time.
Would I go back? Well, I am not sure... I did feel that management was aware of the neighborhood and did their best to keep their guests safe, but I still felt uneasy there. Always be aware of your surroundings if staying there, and let management know if there is anything suspicious going on. They will not hesitate to call law enforcement if needed, and I believe that the safety of their guests is their priority.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Michael.

Thanks you for your comments. I am glad you liked your room, let me assure you this is safe neighborhood. Our guest's safety is our number one priority, we always walk the property to make sure everything is secured. We are very strict on who visit our property, I think this should be with all hotels no matter where they are located. Please visit us again and you will fill safe.

Thanks
Chetan Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I am born and raised in San Diego. This hotel is in a bad part of town, however, cheap, so booked my nieces here for a family get together. The owner is CLUELESS about customer service. Long story short, he ended up calling the police on me. I am a middle aged mother of 2. No tatoos, no piercings, don't drink, don't smoke, went to Catholic school my whole life. Clean driving record, NEVER been to jail. Yet, this man calls the police on me. Unbelievable!!!!First off, he claimed our reservation was for 1 adult, 2 kids. Tried to charge $60 extra for my nieces husband. I verified my reservation with Get A Room.com was for 2 adults, 2 kids! Next, he asked for a $150 deposit, even tho the room was paid for 2 nights. I go get the cash, he decides to raise the deposit to $250! Tells Get A Room.com agent that I had a car load of people in my car and he just knows I am putting them all in that room. This guy has cameras of the whole property and watches your every move! My military son was coming to town that night and it was his birthday on the 20th. Lots of family from out of state coming to see my military son. NOT everyone staying at that hotel room. Some staying at my house. He assumed wrong! He then said my niece was not allowed ANY visitors. Mind you, she was from out of state and wanted her father and Uncle to visit her. This is the short version of the story as too much to write, but this foreign man comes to my country and tells me my niece is not allowed visitors in her hotel room???? I think NOT!!!! Finally he agreed to let us cancel the room and get a refund from Get A Room.com. Not before he called the police on me. The owner totally twists the story to the police, what an idiot! The officer never asked my ID and went outside with me. Told me he has problems with this owner before. What a waste of tax payer money calling the police on many occasions when it is not warranted!!!! Lastly, dealing with this jerk, I was 40 minutes late to the airport to pick up my military son who was tired from the long flight and had a guest with him. Please, take my advice and stay elsewhere. This idiot should be put out of business!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank GinaR182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Gina,

Thank you for taking the time post your concerns, as most hotels we require a valid ID and credit card to check-in to our hotel. You presented three credit cards each of them were declined do to no funds in the account. At that point we asked for a cash deposit, which you were not able to pay. Typically a prepaid reservation thru third party sites is non refundable, yet we made exception and asked priceline to refund your money. You chose to hang around the lobby disrupting our guests and staff members by yelling, screaming and asking for money from other guests. You left us no alternative but to call the police and have you escorted off the property.

We are sorry that we had to call the police, but you left us no option, it is our duty to protect our guests and staff, when a guest gets out of control.

Sincerely
Dipti Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights recently and it met my expectations. The hotel is located conveniently right on El Cajon blvd and is almost equidistant from the 2 freeways - I8 and CA94, so it's easy to find. The neighbourhood looked safe since it is very close to San Diego State University. The room was spacious and clean and everything worked properly. I was pleasantly surprised to find a fridge and 2 microwaves in my room - although my booking did not specify any amenities other than TV, hair dryer and coffee maker. I just wish the bathroom would have been a bit cleaner. Room service was okay and regular, the parking looked big enough and we never used the pool. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. Eateries and gas stations are nearby to the hotel. San Diego downtown was 15 mins drive from the hotel and all other major attractions are within 20 mins of driving.
Overall - I had a decent stay at this place and would recommend this if you are looking for a cheap clean hotel. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smonda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.2 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.6 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Santee
Rodeway Inn Santee
#3 of 3 in Santee
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super Eight
El Cajon Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing