We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marechiaro's

Marechiaro's
Ranked #17 of 310 Restaurants in El Cajon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Italian food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I go to San Diego at least twice a year for two weeks and find it a difficult place to find really good food so I have been venturing out to the suburbs and found this really nice place.
The pasta was really good with extra large servings. I went at lunch time and the service was good with a very pleasant server. The place was about 25 miles from where I was staying and may not go there for dinner due to traffic however for lunch it was really worth the ride. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brucedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST ITALIAN in the East County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is, hands down, the best Italian in the East County. Beats Nicolosi's hands down. Family owned and operated. Fantastic variety of food. Great prices. Friendly staff. A definitely 'local' hangout.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RDibbxsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great spot to have lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a business luncy here while in San Deigo and it was great. Service was very nice, food was excellend and hot. Atmosphere is a bit eclectic but nice. Portions are plentiful and the bread is worth asking for an extra basket..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were seated immediately. Shortly our server was there asking if we wanted a drink and answering questions about the menu. We had spaghetti and meatballs which were good, lobster and shrimp over angel hair pasta which was very good, and the minestrone soup which was excellent. Lots of folks were having pizza which we will have when we return (and we will return) with our family. And throughout our service was very good---from the time we sat down through when we received our check. We were neither rushed nor were we waiting; it was just right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank santabarbaraserenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste of home-care if mamma had a pizza oven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Never a bad experience ...... pizza, meat ball subs and service to top! A must stop and a local hot spot.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gotstuffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marechiaro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing