We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dated and needs updating.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Not a great hotel. I get the feeling there is a lot of penny pinching going on. The hotel is so dated and everything looks as though it is falling to pieces. We were told the lift was out of order so I guess its just as well we could manage the stairs! The room had old furniture that was falling apart and the tv didn't work properly. The breakfast was very basic and not at all inspiring. We did not see a smiling member of staff for the time we were there, miserable to say the least! The management need to put their hands in their pockets and give people a hotel worth paying for.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nic675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    26
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
11
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

El Centro, CA is located in the middle of the desert. I was brought up in the desert and trying to keep anything clean is like riding uphill, it is very difficult, a lot of dust! Comfort Inn deals with this daily and I am very impressed with how the staff are constantly cleaning. I stay in El Centro every other month, once a week and the Comfort Inn is the only place I will stay. It is affordable, clean, and the staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are cool, in a hot environment and everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. FREE breakfast in the morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.) makes the end of my stay that much better. I encourage everyone to stop here (off Highway I-8, 4th Street off ramp) and relax. GREAT place. I have stayed here 20+ times and continue to enjoy the accommodations!

Room Tip: Call ahead and let the staff know what you need, They will bend over backwards for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hotel outside appearance is very dusty and dirty. Window screens are falling off Front door not locked. All windows are not clean. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Hall way is HOT. Its the desert!! Our room was
very dusty. The bed sheets were not changed. Only ice machine in the hotel is not operating properly! Its the desert!!
We attribute the horrific condition to management neglect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiderman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here while traveling on business in February 2012. Here are my thoughts:

Pros:
-Big rooms-the suites were significantly larger than other suite's I've stayed in before
-Free Internet
-Plenty of parking

Cons:
-The service was lacking: Charged my bill to the wrong account, when I caught the mistake, the staff acted as if I'd somehow annoyed them
-Common areas aren't too clean (beer bottles in hall ways)
-Room was extremely dusty...I don't have any allergies or breathing problem, but couldn't sleep once the air conditioner started
-Over priced (based on value, I'd expect to have paid 60-70% of what I paid)

Overall, the hotel itself wasn't bad and most of the cons can be fixed with better management. I would not recommend staying here unless you have no other alternative.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Comfort Inn in El Centro is a very comfortable hotel. The rooms were nice, beds comfortable, breakfast was much better than normally found in such places. They included eggs, bacon and sausage, which makes it easier to have something to eat (I'm gluten free, and most places only provide bread related choices). There was an exercise facility, pool, hot tub and the second building included a bar. Free wi-fi was available and a computer down by check in included a printer for printing boarding passes.
The only problem was that in the evening the smells from the large cattle feedlots drifted in and became very unpleasant. Luckily for me, my air con unit didn't pump it into the room. One of my co-workers had to change rooms because her door wouldn't lock. She ended up with a two room suite with a small kitchen.
Overall, staff were helpful, and you didn't hear the road noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and chose this hotel because it is dog friendly. The girls working the desk were very nice and we were given a recently updated room on first floor so it was easy to walk our dogs. The bed was awesome .. Very comfy. I feel like some things are looking run down and not maintained in the hotel but overall our room was clean and gave us a good base to visit my husband's hometown. Breakfast was ok but nothing special .. Bacon, eggs, sausage, pastry , cereals .. Coffee and juices. We paid $89 a night which is good for this area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel was nicer than I expected, as I have stayed at other Comfort Inn's and this one was better than the average Comfort Inn, although I think they are pretty darned good for the price. The rooms were nice and pretty large with a kitchette and a decent sized fridge. Our first room had a balconey that overlooked a courtyard that was nice, even if it was north of 100 outside. However, our A/C broke down in the middle of the night. I told the front desk about it as soon as we came back from hunting and they had a service person there within 5 minutes. He was unable to fix it at that time, but as soon as a room was available they changed us to another room. I have to say, they dealt with the problem very well! They also have a great breakfast spread that is included in the price and the dining area is pretty nice. My biggest complaint is that they didn't have an ice machine in our building (there are two buildings). Overall a very good place.

Room Tip: Pick the 400 to 600 rooms, much bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munnsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Centro hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn El Centro
Hampton Inn El Centro
#2 of 19 in El Centro
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites El Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 19 in El Centro
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites El Centro
1.0 mi away
Travelodge EL Centro
Travelodge EL Centro
#10 of 19 in El Centro
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2354 S 4th St, El Centro, CA 92243-6002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites El Centro I-8 is conveniently located off South 4th Street exit, adjacent to In 'N' Out Burger, IHOP and Panda Express. All rooms and suites have flat panel TVs, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator and hair dryer. Enjoy our free hot breakfast including eggs, meat, yogurt, make-your-own waffles and much more. Enjoy a refreshing drink at the on-site Mirage Bar. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn El Centro
El Centro Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing