We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed but not disgusted”

Travelodge EL Centro
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge EL Centro
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in El Centro
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointed but not disgusted”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I'm going to try to be fair, but also honest. We did the typical thing and stayed one night for an stopover enroute from Phoenix to San Diego. Here is what we experienced:
1) The beds were comfortable, but the warm blankets were a bit threadbare and had a lot of holes.
2) We found two cockroaches. One the night of the stay, in the bathtub. I understand sewer roaches happen but then there was the second one, the normal brown kind that likes dark places, which surprised my traveling companion when she opened the hotel services guide by crawling on her hand. I tried to catch it to bring the hotel clerk as proof, but then it proceeded to crawl towards my toddler and I decided its life had to end.
3) The breakfast was fine, eggs and pancakes on foam plates in a very worn and well-loved dining hall. Nothing spectacular, just basic.
4) The entire outside entrance to our room smelled strongly of garbage and urine. It went down a bit after the winds picked up, but made packing a very difficult proposition.
5) The response to my concerns regarding cockroaches and the smell was acknowledgement and agreement that it was unusual and at some point to follow up. I really don't know if they took it seriously; I received a very neutral response.

They would have received two stars had it not been for their kind attention to allowing us to retrieve our forgotten items on the way back through. We appreciate that a lot.

My recommendation is to stay elsewhere and not be lured in by free breakfast and drinks. Instead, stay somewhere else, and come over and pay 3 dollars for breakfast.

Room Tip: I imagine staying near the pool might look and smell better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magneticroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We do our best to keep all of our rooms clean and up to standards. We are very sorry if you were inconvenienced, we are renovating and upgrading. We are a limited service budget hotel and our prices are very reasonable, that is not an escuse and again we are sorry your trip was not what was expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    16
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
12
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Everyone here is very friendly and helpful. The free breakfastis actally a breakfast. Pancakes, eggs, etc. You also get a free drink in the attached bar. Rooms are clean and fairly updated. It is close to the 8 and fairly close to stores and shopping. And only 15 minutes to the solar projects.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vander1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we do our best to keep up with the industry, and appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I have been staying at the vacation inn for a couple of years and have always been treated like family. Recently the inn underwent renovation and the results spell comfort, cleanliness, and as always a friendly environment. The staff always puts the needs of the customer first and is always helpful. This establishment leaves the traveler feeling at home and welcomed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and we appreciate hearing how our guests feel and the experience they have had. We do appreciate your patronage and hope you come back for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We were in El Centro the Tuesday before Thanksgiving and stayed at the Vacation Inn. The rooms are clean, the staff is polite and they were able to accommodate us with a small (13lb) dog. There were a lot of construction workers staying at the hotel so pick-up trucks were starting at 4:30 am with men going to work. Even so I was able to sleep well and enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. This hotel is a good choice for a modestly priced comfortable place to spend a night. We will stay there again while in El Centro.

Room Tip: Call for a reservation, when we check online the website said No-Vacancies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your feedback, please come and check us out we have updated our hotel since your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Rooms are large and clean. The price of the room comes with two breakfasts, two alcoholic drinks, and free wifi. I can't comment on the pool because it was closed or the breakfast because I got up too late. Overall, I would state here again - I just booked my room for this weekend

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntm138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Although this review is old we still say thank you and we have upgraded this hotel in many ways and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

On a long road trip to California this was an excellent stop for a good nights rest. We made last minute reservations at about 9pm on the drive in and at 1am the next morning we were checking in. For the price we got a great room right off the I-8. We slept in and missed the breakfast so we cant comment on that but there was a Denny's right across the street where we ate and jumped back on the I-8 with ease. To our surprise it had a small refrigerator and microwave which was not expected considering our last minute reservation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfspyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks! We have upgraded many things in this hotel over the years, more amenities and beds, TV's etc. You are correct we are right off the freeway and great for a stop off for the night when traveling and we also have an RV park which works well with travelers! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

The room was nice and the bed comnfortable but he motel is not in the best area. At one time it was a wonderful motel with a great restuarant. The restuarant now has a pool table and the menu is limited. We were concerned about security and will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, Manager at Travelodge EL Centro, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Although this review is very old, we would like to say we appreciate your patronage and feedback and we would like you to know that we have upgraded many things at this location, we are family friends and a safe place to stay. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Centro hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn El Centro
Hampton Inn El Centro
#3 of 19 in El Centro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Motel
Crown Motel
#12 of 19 in El Centro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 19 in El Centro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
0.1 mi away
Super 8 El Centro
Super 8 El Centro
#8 of 19 in El Centro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge EL Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge EL Centro

Property: Travelodge EL Centro
Address: 2015 Cottonwood Cir, El Centro, CA 92243-4299 (Formerly Vacation Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge EL Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge EL Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Hotel El Centro
Vacation Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing