We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$441
Rush Creek Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Inn(Mariposa)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Miners Inn Motel(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Lodge(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Bud Lodge(El Portal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (4,290)
Filter reviews
4,290 results
Traveller rating
636
1,528
1,283
553
290
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
1,528
1,283
553
290
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewpark entrancemerced riverpizza parlorsmall kitchenettespa bathdouble showerclosest hotelstove topconvenience storegas fireplaceindoor poolview roommini kitchenkitchen areaminute drivegeneral store
Filter
Updating list...
2,692 - 2,697 of 4,290 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed in room 3312, Juniper Bldg. for two nights. (No river around this bldg.)

The Good – Location, location, location – yards away from Yosemite Park boundary! Spacious room. Big bathroom. Courteous staff. Able to check in early. Pleasant room décor. Huge spa tub in room (didn’t use – seems a waste of the water and electricity they are trying to conserve.) Ample parking.

The Bad – For the high price, certain common room amenities were missing: no hook on back of bathroom door, no shower cap, no soap dish in shower, no magnifying mirror, no decaf coffee in room, no complimentary forgotten toiletries (for sale in gift shop), no ironing board/iron in room, no TV directory, no hotel information in room (including operating instructions for HVAC.) The kitchenette was ill-equiped. One fork, one knife, no spoon, one large pot to cook with and one colander. No can opener, no cork screw, no frying pan, no mixing bowl. (I mentioned lack of stuff to staff and was told everything for the kitchen was available upon request, but I would have been calling for something every five minutes.) Also found somebody else’s food in sink drain.
The bed linens/pillows left a lot to be desired. Old and tired. The vintage TV faced the kitchenette/chairs and did not rotate for bed view. (I had to reprogram TV so all the available channels came in.) Single phone in a very odd, inconvenient location. Wifi only in lobby for a charge. Also, watch out for falling trash bags. Housekeeping throws them down over the railings from upper levels to ground level without concern for possible guests leaving rooms below.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Looking at some of these other reviews, maybe we were lucky. This place (and Yosemite) was one of the highlights of a one-month trip across the States. We booked a double room, but only a twin was available. We asked for a double if one became available, as we were on our honeymoon - we ended up getting upgraded to a penthouse suite, with a spa bath. lounge and kitchen. Lobby staff were friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was lovely - we were lucky enough to be seated at the rear of the restaurant, at window seats overlooking the river. The National Park is a 5 minute drive up the road. I can find very little to fault with this hotel - sure, it's a little old and maybe in need of a renovation, but in this locale you don't really need too many distractions. It was clean and comfortable, and anything too modern and flashy would stand out like a sore thumb in this environment. Great experience all round.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This hotel trades on its location, which is excellent. However, the rooms are awful, they are dated, poorly furnished and not at all comfortable. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but would have liked a hotel in which I could relax in after a day in the National Park. For me the most unforgivable thing was the towels in the bathroom, which were threadbare. A total shame as this hotel is in a great location and considering what they charge for a room they really aren't re-investing in keeping the amenities up-to-date.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Besides being extremely close to the entrance to Yosemite Park, the motel complex suited me perfectly. My room had a balcony overlooking the Merced River (which roared with Spring melt only 10-15 yards away from my room). My room was large with two queen beds. Large bathroom. Kitchenette and HD TV. No internet, though, which was no problem since getting away from that is part of the appeal of Yosemite. A restaurant with full bar was right on the premises, with friendly staff. Front desk was adjacent to a gift shop and small convenience mart. I look forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with a family group in April. The location is stunning as this is the closest accommodation to the part without actually being in it!

We booked river view rooms and had a great view out on the patio directly onto the Merced river (although as others have said it's actually really noisy so probably best to avoid if you are a light sleeper.) Rooms are large with 2 beds and a small kitchenette. Fortunately each room has an electric fire which we used a lot as it was freezing cold whilst we were there. Rooms are a bit tired looking but clean enough and we were only really in them for sleeping.

Service is a bit patchy - certainly nothing like that we had experienced at other US hotels. Feels a little bit as though they don't need to make the effort as they have a pretty captive audience once you're there.

Used the indoor pool and outdoor spas in the snow which was great fun.

The worst bit for us was the quality of food in the restaurant for breakfast - pretty grim to be honest and definitely overpriced. The staff appeared disinterested and you had to ask for tea/coffee etc several times before it was delivered - not a pleasant dining experience. For dinner we travelled into Mariposa and found a fabulous restaurant called 'Savoury's' which we ate at a couple of nights in preference to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northernbird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews