We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, on the edge of the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel has beautiful views of the Merced River. The rooms are large and comfortable. Our Room had a terrace overlooking the river, it was lovely. There is a small indoor pool, which was very warm, a little too warm, if anything.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyce j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 4,128 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This is the closest hotel from the Yosemite round rock entrance. We stayed at Sequoia in a honeymoon suite and we were very pleased. Eat-in kitchen. Best if you do your groceries before hitting the mountains so you can make a good breakfast or dinner. Food in yosemite is pretty expensive. We had our own jacuzzi and the spa shower is a real treat after a day of frolicking. The cable/tv isn't working . Reception is bad but we couldn't be bothered. We didn't come to watch tv and stay in the room all day. The view of the Merced river (if you get a river room) is just amazing. Nice to spend the morning in your own balcony and sipping your favorite hot chocolate or coffee. Overall, this is a cheaper alternative compared to Ahwahnee and the Yosemite lodge at the falls if you don't mind driving in/out of the valley at night. Wifi is not free. 9.99$/24hrs we didn't mind.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SheilaM_Ramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Well, that was a blast!
We stayed here 2 nights, got a free upgrade to a river-view room, which was huge, with fireplace, and spa tub and king size bed.
The view was just THE BEST, the whole surrounding was breathtaking,
The staff was really nice, the room was clean, the restaurant was good also, I don't have a bad comment, really....:)
And we didn't even visit the spa and the indoor pool!
Oh wait, just one, the internet is 10 $/day.....

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, even if it's costs more. You'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GyongyiCsoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here last March 23-25, 2014. We stayed at the Sequoia building, river-view family suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bath, full kitchen, dining & living room. The room is big enough for a family.

Notes:
1. Location - only a few miles to the Yosemite Arch Rock Gate
2. View of Merced River in your balcony if you have the river view room
3. Wifi NOT Free - $9.99/day or $24.99 for 3 days
4. Breakfast is $9.99 plus tax per person. We loved the food selection.
5. Free parking
6. YARTS Bus Stop right outside the hotel
7. ATM
8. Pet-friendly
9. Non-smoking rooms

Other observations:
1. The TV needs updating. Still the tube type TV.

Tip:
If you have the room with full kitchen, it's better to bring food to cook because they only have the pizza place in that area, and the convenience store by the lobby. When you pass by Oakhurst, CA - that's the best place to buy your groceries and stuff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank pinkpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here Sep 2009 for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded for free to a spa tub room. Lovely hotel, room, bed and food. Very peaceful and amazing views. Would certainly recommend this hotel fir anyone wishing to see this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Pros: 5 minute drive to park entrance. We stayed in Dogwood building which backed onto the running river. Gas station close by and market in El Portal. Great views at the front and back. No other hotels near that spoil the views. Rooms are decorated pretty decent and no funny smells. Our double queen bed room was clean throughout. Free coffee and tea daily. Beds made daily. Clean towels.Showers had hot water. Flat screen TV.

Cons: Beds are very hard. Only 2 pillows per queen bed - why do hotels do this?. Very thin walls...very thin. Noisy jacuzzi vibrates through the walls from next door. Headboards bang from next room and banging of doors\furniture moving around. You can hear people talking from next rooms through the walls. Would hate the summer time when there are screaming kids, crying babies or barking dogs. Not good if you are a light sleeper and have dogs\kids who react to noise. Had to move room during the second night at 2 am as it was too noisy. Bathrooms could do with being updated. Shower heads have a poor spray with no head adjustments. No extractor fan. Torn wallpaper on the walls.TV signal was poor. Had about 26 channels of nothing. Have to pay about $10 per day for WIFI as there is no 3G from Verizon here.
Bible in the bedside drawer? How about a science book also?

Onsite Restaurant: has nice decor, but the food was nothing special. Breakfast buffet was $10 each and I have seen better. But have to say the service was fast and helpful. One girl working on the front was moaning to another staff member about having to re-apply for her job again. Why do I need to hear about your employment issues?

Not sure if I would stay again or recommend. Not good value for the price.

Kudos to the guy working the night shift who was very polite and helpful moving us at 2am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank essexnick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights & had a lovely time. Just wish we had stopped at a supermarket on the way as there was very limited choice in the shop on site.Our rooms were well cleaned & we had all we needed in the room.The bathroom was well stocked & very large. We had 2 lovely meals there one eating in & the other a take away which we ate in our room after a long day in the park. The indoor pool was very busy on our first night so we enjoyed a relaxing time in the outdoor very hot hot tubs. On the second night we had the indoor pool to ourselves & enjoy a swim.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,229 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,719 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
578 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £83 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing