We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearest to Yosemite apart from Yosemite village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 3 May 2014

There are several deficiencies, reported by others. Yet location compensates for these. On the pro side: rooms reasonably maintained, equipped with kitchenette (essential because there aren't many dining alternatives around), terraces overlook the river while windows block river noise perfectly. On the con side: internet expensive & lousy, room rather small for family vacation.
Despite all it is the best choice because Yosemite village doesn't offer anything better, unless you pay exorbitant price charged by Ahwanhee hotel.
Remember to fill you tank prior to arrival; fuel is very expensive in El Portal and no alternatives around.

Room Tip: Ground floor offers large terraces; great for breakfast especially if you're a family. These com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menahem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,635 - 1,641 of 4,090 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

As with any area where there are not too many hotels and competition is low, this hotel is not the best we have ever been to, but for being that close to Yosemite it was just perfect.
The rooms are a little old but pretty huge. We saw some ants in our kitchen... Something they need to take care of. Cleaning was not too good - standard for a hotel like this, I would say.
The service was nice, the hotel has a small shop/supermarket that provides all basics one might need.
The pools were all nice and clean.
It was quiet even though it was pretty busy. This hotel seems to get a lot of bus-tour-tourists.

In sum: If you don't arrive at this hotel with high expectations, it will be just fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_bananav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The smell, the cost, the service, the food, you name it. Nothing else available, next time will sleep in car. $167.00 for a dump. The air conditioning did not work, the tube TV remote did not work. The TV had piss poor reception with lines through out. Called maintenance at 11:00 PM and he was upset, whistled loudly the whole time. Did not announce who he was, blew past me without so much as a howdy do! Several trips back and forth till midnight. The mouse droppings all along the handrails and on the balcony, potential hantavirus hazard. The sentch was overwhelming. The pizza was frozen dough and a five year old could have made a better pizza. Did not even consider the pools or hot tubs, could only amagine in my worst nightmare the outcome of that exposure. Be forewarned, wished I would have takened to time to research.

Room Tip: Drive a little farther, couldn't be any worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinker729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

totally relaxing, we loved our 3 day stay here. After driving 20 days without a rest day it was great to spend 24 hours in the huge bed watching tv. The room was clean, I loved the carvings of bears in the bathroom and bedhead. The small kitchen area was all we needed for drinks, snacks and breakfast. Some cutlery was missing but this gave me a good reason to eat in the restaurant or get a pizza for dinner. Easy drive into Yosemite, had fun walking around looking for animals. Surprised to have a deer walk up behind me while it grazed. Used the computer in the lobby for internet to contact family, wasn't busy in November so computer was always available. Some food available in lobby but I would suggest shopping before you go, especially if you plan to make all your own meals. Could not fault the restaurant and pizza staff, lovely friendly people, nice to chat with. The check in/out lobby staff were average, not chatty just did their job. Nothing more, nothing less. I could understand if it was peak season but near the end of November it was quiet, we didn't have to line up and nobody behind us so a simple 'how has your day been' or 'is your room ok' would have been nice. Some didn't even smile. We would return though as everything else made the stay excellent.

Room Tip: room on the river, ground floor. I loved sitting outside with my blanket in November
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topspots2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

What can I say? Not nearly enough to express how beautiful and restful this place is! Beautiful room with little kitchenette , fireplace, jacuzzi, big comfy beds and a private deck overlooking the river!!!! Sat outside every night until " Rocky" Raccoon came to visit! Then we shifted to our comfortable room!!! Very clean and close to Yosemiti park entrance. Great restaurant on sight with good food and superb service!!! Gift shop,Pizza place,and indoor outdoor pools on premises . Hope to go back and visit- so sad to leave!!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank 1995win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our room overlooked beautiful Merced River. Lodge is 5 min. from gate into Yosemite and 10 min to valley floor. Can't get any closer to park unless you stay in the park which is very expensive. Rm 219 has a king bed, sofa, private balcony over looking river, small kitchen with stove, small refrigerator, coffee pot and kitchen utensils, plates etc. We also had a fireplace but to warm when we were there to use. Lodge has a small grocery, pool and large indoor hot tub. All in all a perfect destination for visiting Yosemite.

Room Tip: Rosebud complex very nice and has an elevator for top floor access. Room 219 very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,680 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £90 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing