We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Close to Yosemite Entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We go to Yosemite every 6 months and this place has turned into our first choice for hotel accommodations. The main reason is It is very easy to get to the nearby NP entrance. The rooms are large and clean, many with a kitchenette. It seems like each has a balcony which we like, especially in warmer months. River view is very nice. Pools and restaurant are great for relaxing after day in the park. Reasonably priced unlike the outrageously priced valley floor accommodations. Will be back soon for fall foliage!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,992)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 3,992 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great location just outside the El Portal entrance to Yosemite. The river view rooms are located right on the rushing river and it is a real pleasure to sit on the private patio and watch the river and the birds. The restaurant is a bit expensive ($11 breakfast buffet and $15 hamburger for dinner), but there is a casual pizza place that's fairly good and not so expensive. The rooms are clean and comfortable and our river view room had a refrigerator and microwave. Maintenance appears to be an issue and that's why I give this hotel 4 stars instead of 5. In our room, the microwave oven didn't work and the security latch on the door was pulled out of the wall and just hanging from the door. When we checked out we got a discount because of the non-working microwave.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are awesome if you're willing to pay the higher rate.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobHEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

but you need to understand that this would be a step below a Holiday Inn anywhere else. It's all about the location. Our room was on the river and found the sound of the rushing waters very relaxing after a long day of hiking. However, without that I cannot say it would have been worth the price. The place is showing it's wear and could be better maintained, housekeeping does the bare minimum. Food options are very limited. Stocked up on groceries at Trader Joe's in Modesto and cooked our own meals in our room which turned out to be a great decision.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are worth it, relaxing to sit on the deck and watch/listen to the water...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently stayed here for four nights while visiting Yosemite. This is definitely not a three star facility! They have numerous spa tub rooms and they made no attempt to advise you of the severe draught in California and made no request that you not use the spa tub. What a terrible waste of water. There was no bath mat to keep you from slipping when stepping out of the shower onto the tile floor. When we requested one, we got a rubber mat for the shower. On our last day, upon returning from dinner in Yosemite, we discovered that our air conditioning was not working, as we were already dressed for bed, we waited until the next morning to advise the office. The staff at this property needs serious training in customer service. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are noisy due to the proximity of the river.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location but after a very longs days drive that day we didnt really make the most of our trip to Yosemite. From what I saw of the park it is amazing and this lodge is only 5 minutes drive from the entrance. There was a restaurant with decent food but fairly unattentive service. The bar closed at 9pm which was ridiculously early but the on site shop had a decent selection of everything so we sat on the balcony and chatted for hours.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the river rather than the one we had overlooking the rather less insp...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dferdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for one night in April. The hotel is located right on the river and has lovely views of the same.

The room was large with a spa bath and open gas fire place. Bed was comfortable and shower was only ok. Room and bathroom where both clean.

Access to Yosemite is easy and quick. Parking was free, however there is no breakfast included and Wi-Fi costs. If you are a light sleeper this place may cause issues as the sound of the river is like a freight train running pasted your front door.

We ate in the restaurant and it was a very average meal with a higher cost. But you have to except that as there is not much else to choose from.

The place has a number of pools and outdoor spa but as it was raining we did use them.

The cost is high due the location. But it is very beautiful and hard to fault.

Would I stay again sure

Room Tip: If you want quiet as for a non river view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazzaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A one night stay on our trip round California,we paid $20 extra when booking in for a river view room,and it was well worth it,check out the log fire and hot tub.Views from room are amazing,room itself provides everything you need,food in restaurant fine,as are the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Pay upgrade for river room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,862 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,625 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £97 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing