We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View from Balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great View from Balcony”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is aptly named, as there is indeed a fantastic view from your individual balcony. The room itself was spacious and I liked having a fridge and microwave. The bed was satisfactory, but not excellent. Although the room appeared clean, it is quite rustic so it doesn't feel pristine. Our room was missing a remote for the TV and when I phoned the office they said they did not have any extra and to look under the bed. No luck.

There was a fireplace in the room, which we did not use and a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which we also did not use, but both are nice touches.

We ordered pizza from the restaurant on site and it was mostly tasty, but the crust was burned. The breakfast buffet in the morning was standard fare, and as typical for these, most selections were high in sugar, carbs and fat. I ate fruit and special K cereal (although my husband had a feast).

Overall, this lodge is a great location with a fantastic view. It was satisfactory for one night, but would not have wanted an extended stay. It is also noteworthy that due to it's proximity to Yosemite National park, there is not internet or cell service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    1,385
    1,163
    471
    248
See reviews for
1,354
1,653
83
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed her for two nights in June with a family of four in a two queen room with river view. There are many different buildings of different design and vintage in this facility. We had a ground floor room in the building right across from the lodge. The room felt a little old, but it worked well for us. There was a counter with a fridge, microwave, stove, toaster, sink, plus a cabinet stocked with plates, pots and silverware. That came in handy for breakfast. We had a little balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the river. We sat out there at night to relax, and in the morning for breakfast. It made for a nice Yosemite feel.

Some things to consider:
- Even so the lodge is only about 1 mile from the park boundary, it takes almost 45 minutes to drive into the valley, or 1.5 hours to Tuolumne Meadows.
- As with most of the Yosemite area, there is no cell phone coverage. Wi-Fi was available for $9.99 per day per device. We didn't use it, but it seems limited - the terms say no streaming, no downloading, etc.
- The AC unit was a bit noisy, and the fan is always on. The AC cycles on and off as needed based on temperature, but the fan keeps on running.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This balcony view was the saving grace for this place. Upon entering the room we we're overcome by the smell of air freshener combined with a musty smell. We opened all doors and windows and ran the a/c for at least an hour so we could handle the smell. When we returned from dinner it was much better. The carpet was shredding at the transition strip and bathroom wall paper peeling. It seemed as though everything needed a deep clean. Fortunately the sheets smelled and looked fresh. That said, the balcony views were spectacular. We saw two foxes and numerous birds. The location is fabulous and the location and balcony are what pushed thus from a one star to a three star. What a shame they can't clean it up a bit-inside and out. Thus place has incredible potential but needs capital and better management.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights in a so-called Honeymoon suite in the Sequoia building, with a river view. I would have cried my eyes out if I got this outdated and gloomy room for my honeymoon...

This hotel is barely average. It is worn, outdated and staff are barely interested. Luckily it is clean enough, thanks to good housekeeping service. The hotel survives thanks to it's location. but you get the distinct feeling that management/owners are uninterested (or too greedy) in running a good hotel.

We liked:
the river and wildlife just outside the window
the stars at night
the short distance to the park
the good housekeeping
the decent pizza
the nice pools

We disliked:
the uninterested or standoffish staff
the 75 min wait (at 10 PM) for the rollaway bed we had asked for in advance
the utterly disgusting blanket that came on the rollaway bed
the giant hot tub in the room (yes, not in the bathroom, but in the room)
the bugs in the fridge
the holes in the shower curtain
the used sponge in the kitchenette
the outdated decor in the room and elsewhere
the fact that all buildings look outdated and a bit shabby
the pay for wi-fi policy even though you pay very much for the room

Room Tip: If you have to stay there a room with river view is essential. If not you only have views of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My expectations were higher for this place since I had been reading the posts on Tripadvisor. Our room was badly in need of bedding upgrades. The bed was fine but the blanket had holes and the bedspread was old and depressing. The bathrooms were in very good condition except for the privacy glass window that looked out on the outside corridor. You really could get a look inside if the the lights were on so we kept them off at all times. The carpets also were depressing and needed replacing but seemed to fairly clean.
Having said all this; there are very few places to lodging options just outside the park and your choices are seriously limited. Our experience was less than ideal though given the excellent location of this property, I would give it an Average+ rating. As long as you know what you will find then you will be fine to stay here. Ask for a river view room if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room if you can get it. There are many buildings, try to get one in the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband, kid and I stayed for a night in this hotel last week (Jun21-22) and we paid $250+ for the one night stay. It was a good location for us since it is near Yosemite. However that is the only positive note that I can speak of.

Our hotel building is located right in front of the lobby (room#1063), never mind that this hotel is old and is dire need of renovation. The room was dark and not enough lights inside, this should have been fine .. however upon closer look of the room, I noticed flies, mosquitos and insects are flying inside our room :( The sink was dirty and the bedsheets and the pillowcases were not clean - I smelled something nasty in the pillow before going to sleep :( Even if they have stove and kitchen utensils available for use -- given the room state we arrived in I will not even touch those utensils for use!!

I WILL DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently. The location is great for anyone visiting the park. The rooms are ok, clean and comfortable and good enough for a short stay. There is not a lot else around, so you really have to eat on site. Having said that, the prices are reasonable and so is the food. Doo book in advance as it gets busy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,043 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
418 reviews
15.6 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Property: Yosemite View Lodge
Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing