We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're paying for location, not for a class hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Literally a few hundred yards outside of the park border, and right on the Merced River...meaning your river view balcony isn't a quiet place for conversation...rapids, even in July, were loud, but not loud enough to prevent sleep (the noisy air conditioner fit that bill). The rooms are dated but clean. All we wanted was a place to crash for the night and conveniently re-enter the park first thing in the morning, This place fit that bill just fine, and because of that you'll pay urban Hilton rates for a Super8 kind of room. Hey, it's Yosemite, there aren't that many options. We knew that going in so it wasn't a disappointment. I think next visit to the park will be either an RV or a vacation rental place as there are no hotel accommodations available that can offer value tcomparable to what can be found with research in other less remote vacation destinations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank InTheHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place has a lot of potential but.... This place needs new management. You know, someone who cares about their customers. The room rates were extremely high and the rooms were filthy. The room door was difficult to open and once we got it open it wouldn't stay closed unless we dead bolted it. No towels in the room and when we asked for towels we got small hand towels but lots of them. There was no remote control for the T.V. in the room. The air conditioner didn't work very well. There were no coffee cups but had a coffee maker. Only had a one drinking cup. They have a little store there that sells some groceries but is extremely over priced. One twelve pack of Coors beer was $20. The hot tub that we used (they have several) was a cold tub with a stunning view of the river. Pizza across the way was yummy and had great prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This motel is in desperate need of a new manager, one who has an inkling about providing customer service. On a recent visit with a tour group, I checked into my room at about 5pm and noticed the room was very hot so I adjusted the A/C setting to help cool the room. There was a beautiful view in the rear from the balcony of the Merced River and I looked forward to spending some time on the balcony after dinner. My wife and I went to the restaurant, each had a cheeseburger platter and a salad. The tab with tip was $46. The cheeseburger was good but not worth the $14.99 it cost. No biggie, this is, after all a tourist area.
We returned to the room and it was as miserable as it had been an hour earlier, like an oven.
I called the front desk and let the phone ring at least twenty times, no answer. I waited about five minutes, called the front desk again , let it ring at least twenty times, no answer.
I waited a few minutes, called again and counted the rings. After ninety-three rings with no answer I hung the phone up and walked the couple hundred yards to the lobby. I walked in and saw about three people helping customers and one individual standing unoccupied. He asked if he could help me. I replied that he could have helped by answering the phone when it rang. He replied that "we have been very busy" I explained that my A/C wasn't working and after consulting with another person there, he told me he would send a maintenance man right away. I thanked him and returned to my room. After about thirty minutes nobody showed up. I tried calling again, no answer. Finally a man showed up walked into the room, looked at the A/C settings and told me he would get me another room in the same building. Then he called the front desk. Surprise, Surprise, no answer. He left and said he would bring me another room key. I never saw him again. Finally I found out the tour director's room number and called her. She went to the front desk and was told "We have been very busy". finally after about three hours I was put in another room, in another building, not overlooking the river and that was fine. I just wanted someone to give a hoot . It seems ridiculous that "We have been busy" makes everything ok. If the building is on fire, if there is a guest having a heart attack, if there is a shooting in the parking lot, that's ok if you can't contact the front desk because they have, after all, " been busy". I feel confidant that the owner of this hotel would not find this excuse acceptable. I would drive three days to avoid ever being stuck in this place again.

Room Tip: Drive past it as fast as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamR626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent a lovely June week enjoying Yosemite with Yosemite View Lodge as our home base - we were very satisfied. The property was clean, the staff was professional, the rates were reasonable, and the facilities more than met our expectations.

The complex has two restaurants on site - a pizza place with outside seating and a nicer restaurant. We ate at both more than once and were satisfied with the food (good salad bars) and service. There is a small grocery (with spirits) just off the lobby, a laundry room (ask for change and purchase soap at the grocery), and three clean pools with hot tubs - our only disappointment was that not all the hot tubs were working (but the ones that were, heaven!!, after a day of hiking).

Our room was spacious and included a kitchen area - small fridge, microwave, stove, coffeemaker (with coffee) and dishes. The beds and pillows were fresh and comfy, and the housekeeping staff was polite, quick and thorough. The bath was larger than the norm; the air conditioning was as cold as you want it.

What truly won my heart was the balcony overlooking the Merced River. Beginning and ending the day listening to the water music and watching the birds, chipmunks, squirrels (and one fly fisherman) created the perfect, peaceful Yosemite mood.

The hotel is less than a mile from a 24 hour gas station and from park boundaries, two miles from the ranger station, and twelve miles to the heart of Yosemite Valley. We loved it.

Room Tip: Second or third floor riverview rooms have more private balconies than the ground floor rooms (due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms are old but provide enough space. We had a river view with small balcony on the 1st floor. The bed was not OK. My back suffered from sleeping here. Happy to leave after two nights. Other hotels in the park are too expensive, so guess this was the best solution, eventhough too expensive for the value one gets

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank vaneeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights. Ate at the restaurant and pizza place. Both were good.
The decor is very 70s . Once you get past that - it's fine. It has all you need in this location - big rooms, on site shop and laundrette. Talking of the location, it's perfect. Just a few hundred yards from the park boundary.
We were awoken on our final night by water dripping through our ceiling. After a little persuasion the staff relocated us next door. I think this sums it up - great location, staff helpfully but building in need of renovation. Pleased we visited - mainly due to location.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank trecynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A fabulous place to rest your head after an amazing day in Yosemite! Okay so it is in need of modernisation but overall clean and great size rooms. The hotel shops is very very expensive so fill up on groceries before hand if you plan to have snacks and make picnics for your trip outs! Staff friendly enough and my kids loved the swimming pool...albeit no life guards on duty! Great location would return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
5.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,212 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
561 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,689 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £87 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing