We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience & Comfort”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenience & Comfort”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed a night on a return trip to Yosemite during winter. I usually stay in Oakhurst because of the wide variety of lodging and dining options there. Oakhurst is good if you want to start your day at the Mariposa Grove but El Portal is the closest to Yosemite Valley. Cedar Lodge is only 7 miles from the entrance to the park on US140 and about 5 miles from the Valley once inside the park which makes it super convenient. The motel is large, looks almost like a condo. Room was pleasant and is similar to that of a mid-tier motel. Check-in was effiicient and pleasant. Continental breakfast as really basic, breads and grains only.

Room Tip: US 140 is quiet during winter so just about no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatSeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    628
    770
    312
    159
See reviews for
624
887
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 very pleasant nights when visiting beautiful Yosemite. We were very happy with the room we received, while it wasn’t decorated to our taste, it was big, clean and comfortable with everything you would hope for. We were very happy with the indoor swimming pool which is a nice way to relax after a day in the park.
It probably would be better to stay in the park as there was quite a wait when we were entering the park on our first morning, I think around 40 minutes but park accommodation gets booked out quite easily so I think this is a very good option. We also thought Cedar Lodge was fairly good value.
We ate in the main restaurant on both nights of our stay and we thought the food was fine, not amazing but no problem with it either.
Overall a good stay and we would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you had a good time. We look forward to your return stay with us.

Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I needed a place to stay with my two daughters ages 5 and 8. I was taking them to Yosemite for a weekend of skiing, skating, snow play and hiking but I didn't want to break the bank on lodging. Yosemite Lodge was not only overpriced but it was also booked up.

I also was looking for an indoor heated pool that was actually swimable and food on site. Cedar lodge fulfilled all my requirements. They are half an hour drive from yosemite village in the valley and less than an hour away from the ski lifts at badger pass. I booked my rooms on line for a great deal and spent lots of quality time with my girls. The rooms were clean and comfy, the pool was warm and clean (although a bit over chlorinated), the restaurant was satisfactory and a good value for its proximity to Yosemite.

I had fun with my girls and we had no issues with the accomodations. We received what we expected and it was a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Order on line from a discount web site. I booked my room through hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We are happy that you and your girls enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

the room was okay it was clean. Very quiet as its the only building for miles around! no wi fi in rooms! and you can only get wi fi in the lobby! at $9 dollars for 24hrs! great bar next to the hotel and good food and good service. quite close to experience Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M2DOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do only have internet in the lobby for now. Yes there is a charge.
Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had to book this hotel because of a confusion created by Expedia. So had to settle for this because of number of guests. This hotel is an average one. Dont choose this hotel unless you dont have any choice. The front office guy was like "Ok, you booked so what?". I had booked for 2 queen bed but I was given 2 King bed. The rooms were old. The sofa bed was horrible and so were the beds. The only good thing about this hotel is the distance from Yosemite Park, its just half an hour drive. If you dont care for a night's stay go ahead, but looking for ambiance? not a place to stay. Of course, bed bugs.

Room Tip: If you dont care for a night's stay go ahead, but looking for ambiance? not a place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripSF_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
I'm sorry you found our staff member to be indifferent. This certainly is not normally the case. I'm a little confused about the room and the problem you stated. We do not have any rooms with 2 king beds and a sofa sleeper or 2 king beds in any of our rooms. Please contact the motel so we can solve this problem.
Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Went on the day of superbowl. Got for $80. Includes sleeping for 4 adults. Absolutely loved the lodging. Recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shethju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Was skeptical initially, as there were very few options inside the park. But was pleasantly happy at the end. Me , wife, and 2 kids were very comfortable. Had a clean bathroom, area to hang clothes separately, and the best part is the all natural view right outside our backyard door. We took pictures of birds, squirrels, etc amidst forest trees right outside. Parking was close enough.
A short walk to the dining area lodge. And right outside our hotel door, a good view of the FALLS from a distance.

Room Tip: Would prefer ground floor rooms, to have direct access to forest and nature (via back door of room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for the lovely comment.

Thanks
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
377 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,780 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
8.0 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing