We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, in awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Cool place near Yosemite, obviously past it's heydays but very quirky never the less, large rooms, 2 pools, activity room all set in super cool location, bar man with moustache extremely friendly and really made our stay memorable. Food ok, no wifi, but who cares!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank FD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,148)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Cedar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Awful! Basic room, which we expected, but we are convinced the sheets on the bed had not been changed and the towels looked dirty, old and worn. Staff were ok, but not welcoming. Our biggest issue was with the main restaurant. The food was virtually inedible and the waiter really couldn't be bothered with us. We were reluctant to leave a tip, but observed the etiquette to leave the minimum 10%. In the morning our front tyre had been let down. Can't prove who did it, but we know it was deliberate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. We paid $656 for 4 nights which we thought was very reasonable. We weren't prepared to pay the extra money to stay in the park. Room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated and the lack of a lift would certainly be a problem to some when carrying luggage up the stairs. We ate breakfast at Yosemite each day but had dinner in one of the two restaurants each night. I preferred the diner/bar eatery which was the cheaper of the two. Again staff friendly and
helpful in both places. Unfortunately Yosemite closed yesterday due to issues within the Government so our last day wasn't as good as it could have been. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bxsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

For the high price of the room I expected more. Three lights were out, the hairdryer didn't work and the battery cover for the remote had gone and been taped up haphazardly. The restaurant seemed like a fast food joint and was just adequate. Due to the small number of hotels within close proximity to Yosemite, I expect the guests are on one off stays and hence the hotel is not too bothered about the quality provided for the money. Therefore, I would urge guests to look at other options before booking here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJeffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not the dearest we paid but second dearest at $187 a night for 7 nights for the room only. We had a fridge so we bought food in for our breakfasts and lunches. The shop here was expensive. The shop in Yosemite Valley in the NP was cheaper! however I would advise you stock up well before the western park entrance as there is nothing for an hour driving west from El Portal. We did a hike in Kings Canyon and only left there at !7.00 so could not stock up on food until we arrived and forgot about it en route. Having said that I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Yosemite. It is only 20 minutes to the National park from here and 35 to the visitor centre in the valley. The senior manageress was very helpful and checked us in swiftly. The room was very clean and comfortable with a TV, fridge and a nice bathroom.
The restaurant was ok too and we found enough variety for 6 night's meals. On whole nicely cooked and presented.most meals include the soup- only average- but a lovely salad bar. Service did vary from waiting on person to waiting on person. One or two brought the main course before we had finished our starter. This happened quite frequently throughout California. The only other slight niggles were $9 expected to use the wi fi, no chance it should be free like elsewhere. Also the A/C was noisy and we had to turn it off most nights to get to sleep. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located on a bend in the Merced river in a pretty valley. On driving up we almost missed the sign as it was covered by vegetation. Hotel is quite large and comprises a number of 2 storey blocks. I thought it was very well turned out, as I drove in. The reception is quite large and the lady had us checked in and gave us an explanation of "how the hotel works and its timings" in a very friendly and efficient manner.

We had room (mini suite) 525 on the second floor in the second block off the main road. Parking is outside your room. Room was large with 2 queen beds, a seating area, fridge coffee/tea making facilities, oly style TV ( with limited stations). A/C was very efficient. Beds were very comfy.

Toilet/bath/shower room was quite large with a lot of laying out space. Wife thought lighting could be better - I thought it was OK. Hairdryer is provided.

Hotel has an outdoor pool area, an indoor pool and it's own sandy beach on the banks of the Merced river. I rally enjoyed the beach - the water was shallow and clear - it would be a great place for kids!

The hotel grounds are clean with lots of "bear" statues dotted around the place. It also has outside BBQ pits, gazeebos and seating areas. The hotel is ideally sited for trips into Yosemite, however, it is quite isolated and there is nothing that you can walk to as regards bars/restaurants.
The hotel does have its on "mini" market where you can purchase basic foodstuffs, beer/wine etc. I stocked up in Mariposa as I was not aware of this facility.

Hotel does have its own bar, grill and restaurant. We found the bar good, the grill was also good - a "burgery" type of place.

Overall I liked the hotel - it was more than I'd usully spend per nght but given its closeness to Yosemite, its own lovely location and the fact you were in California it was OK. I would certainly go back.

I did have a few minor niggles - the hotel should provide seats outside each room. Some rooms on the roadside had them but most didn't. It would be great to sit outside your room after a day out and relax with a chilled wine/beer. Also there was no microwave. WFIF was $10/day which I thought a tad cheeky considering the room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

There are lots of plus points about Cedar Lodge - it's very convenient for exploring Yosemite, it's situated on its own little beach on the Merced River, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, with fridges, coffee makers, large flat screen TVs, fabulous four poster beds, large bathrooms with jacuzzi baths and separate enormous shower cubicles (with tremendous water pressure), an indoor and outdoor pool, and two on site restaurants that serve an excellent breakfast (not included in the room rate) and a good choice of delicious evening meals (the braised beef melted in the mouth). That said, there is no free WiFi, and undoubtedly you pay a premium for the location and facilities in what essentially is a large but very good motel complex.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,859 reviews
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £70 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing