We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights in late October 2013 for about $140 per night. Big room, has a bar and restaurant (which we did not go into) and of course is close to the Yosemite Valley (about 25mins drive). There was also a pool and an arcade I believe but of course we didn't spend much time at the hotel as it was merely a base camp for us and actual camping was too cold.

Unless you stay at a place in the Yosemite Valley itself, I would say this is second choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coreym17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty economic Hotel. Proces are reasonable and rooms are ok. Sometimes ok is a lot. But the most important part is that it is convenient and well located. You want to be close to the park entrance and this hotel is very close. 20 minutes to the park. Location sometimes is everything!!!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank mbilbaop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had to stay here since the other hotels were full. We were VERY impressed with the friendliness, cleanliness and atmosphere. Furniture may be a bit out-dated, but for the value, it's a great place to stay. We'd highly recommend for the $$$$

Room Tip: King with HUGE jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phebertjyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The room was attractive and comfortable. Nice and quiet too! Found the front desk people to be helpful. We only stayed one night so we did not experience breakfast or dinner there. We ate at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite with the money we saved!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TravelOn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stunning location, although some areas are rather stale. The rooms are large with good facilities. Ours had a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The staff were indifferent on our arrival and offered no information or warmth. We later discovered that a number of infamous murders were committed at the hotel in the 1990s and the place has a certain notoriety for this reason. Maybe it's rubbed off on the staff!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have stunning views from their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tr3vor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

the location for Yosemite is great. However, the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired.The food is not great and the service for breakfast was not great at all. Breakfast was cold and when I told the waitress she grabbed the plate and returned with it having been microwaved resulting in the eggs being solid.When I advised I could not eat this the plate was again removed and we were still billed for a breakfast that could not be eaten. The staff at the reception were helpful but did not seem to know what was happening in the area. The rooms are dark and not as clean as they could be.

On a positive note the barman was great and very cheery which took away from the limited selection of not so great bar food that was available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights this week, I've stayed here before and it seems to have slipped. Overall, the combination of location (proximity to Yosemite Valley) and value makes this a good place to sleep.

The room remains fine, it's large, clean, and comfortable. Front desk was serviceable but can be unattentive at night. The store in the lobby was super convenient.

Internet was really poor. It was slow and kept dropping,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EatSeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,945 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,693 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing