We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and reasonable price”
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient location and reasonable price”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for two nights mid Feb. Had a standard room and paid apx $90 per night. Room was clean and comfortable. The room heater was incredibly noisy, but did keep the room warm. The bathroom had seen better days, and I had to ask the front desk for instructions on how to get the shower to work.... apparently, my room was known to have a 'tricky' shower, but the front desk didn't have the sense to warn me about it on checkin.

The staff at the front desk didn't appear too interested in the guests, and the one that I dealt with on checkin didn't seem to know much about the lodge. Which was a little un-nerving.

There was a free 'continental' breakfast on the first weekday morning, which consisted of two cereals, cheap bread and mini-muffins and pre-packaged fruit cups all served on disposable plastic plates. Although free they could do much better. At the the weekend the free 'continental' breakfast was not provided, instead, breakfast was $10.95 (plus $2 for orange juice) in the adjoining restaurant. There was a much better range, but quality was not good.

As other's pointed out, there is no cell phone access at the lodge, but that's not the lodge's fault. I did pay for the wifi ($10) and had no problems with it. It was usable in the checkin area and my room.

Given the close proximity to the park entrance, I thought that the lodge's room rates were quite reasonable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustralianOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    636
    787
    323
    164
See reviews for
642
909
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night which cost us $109 for a king spa room. There isn't much choice for this area hotel wise but this seemed like good value for money and it was. Our room was very clean and had a spa bath in it. The decor although dated was right for the place. Breakfast was included and was a self serve continental style buffet. There was a shop where we were able to get food for our packed lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlisle-couple-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Had 2 nights here, would have happily had longer. Stunning location, room basic, but very comfortable. Loved the shop in main building, did loads of Xmas shopping here ! Both nights we ate in the bar, lovely atmosphere, barman so friendly. I really enjoyed sitting on the porch outside. It does have a "rednecks" feel to it, but that is part of the charm.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights in late October 2013 for about $140 per night. Big room, has a bar and restaurant (which we did not go into) and of course is close to the Yosemite Valley (about 25mins drive). There was also a pool and an arcade I believe but of course we didn't spend much time at the hotel as it was merely a base camp for us and actual camping was too cold.

Unless you stay at a place in the Yosemite Valley itself, I would say this is second choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coreym17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty economic Hotel. Proces are reasonable and rooms are ok. Sometimes ok is a lot. But the most important part is that it is convenient and well located. You want to be close to the park entrance and this hotel is very close. 20 minutes to the park. Location sometimes is everything!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mbilbaop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had to stay here since the other hotels were full. We were VERY impressed with the friendliness, cleanliness and atmosphere. Furniture may be a bit out-dated, but for the value, it's a great place to stay. We'd highly recommend for the $$$$

Room Tip: King with HUGE jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phebertjyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The room was attractive and comfortable. Nice and quiet too! Found the front desk people to be helpful. We only stayed one night so we did not experience breakfast or dinner there. We ate at the Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite with the money we saved!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelOn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing