We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deeply disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deeply disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived at 2:40 to be told that check-in wasn't till 3 so we'd have to go away and come back. No offer to check us in and hold our bags... Then, when we walked into the room, the first thing l noticed was the smell of fried food. I couldn't open the windows to air the room while we were out, as we were on the ground floor. The smell was due to the fact that the room contains a kitchen, so you can self-cater but we had dinner in the restaurant which was fine. Enormous portions, much of which seemed to be going back to the kitchen. The buffet breakfast looked fine but with two lactose intolerant family members, we'd have ended up paying $10.95 for a plate of fruit so we chose to drive back into Mariposa for breakfast. As for the room itself, it is in desperate need of a refurb. The beds were comfortable enough but the furniture, fittings and wallpaper look to have come from the 1970's and need updating. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms all appear to have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    603
    750
    299
    148
See reviews for
600
857
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is a perfect base for exploring the west side of Yosemite and accessing the Tioga Pass. There is a good restaurant and bar; we didn't use the indoor swimming pool but that looked like a fun place for young kids. The USP of this place is the room - it was amazing! We had a huge spa bath and a four poster bed, which felt like such a treat! We stayed in 18 hotels during our 6-week trip and this is the one that stands out and I rave to my friends about!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a spa bath and four-poster bed, they are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBunny008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in Yosemite is breathtaking but Cedar Lodge seems to be lost in time it is constantly full. But desperately needs bringing up to date the beds are so uncomfortable all our backs are still in so much pain it also had stains down the side of it.

For some reason we were put in a disabled room which allegedly had a kitchenette that consisted of a coffee percolator in the toilet and a fridge in the other room. We were also told that the wifi was run by an external company but they said it's not worth getting as it's too slow. The room had no ironing facilities or safe deposit box.

The Tv was new but picture was very bad. The staff in the reception area don't seem to know what's going on which makes it very difficult if is your first time to Yosemite. The reception had a notice board with activities that are going on from November 2013 to Feb 2014 when I asked is there an up to date one I was told I don't know when I asked why is that one still up 6 months later I was given the same answer.

Yosemite itself by far takes any problems or issues that you have with the accommodation you just have to treat it as a base and somewhere to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Portal hotels

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This little lodge is set just outside to National park. It is central to Yosemite. We had a motel style room which suited our needs. The room was basic but comfortable- 2 double beds, separate bathroom and toilet with sink in room. We were touring California and had 3 heavy cases which we had to haul up several flgiths of steps to get to room. Parking free. There was a hair dryer, tv and fridge. Plenty of space to store clothing and belongings. There is also an indoor and outdoor pool which we didn't have time to use. There is a restaurant and bar on the site which provided meals through- out the day. We had breakfast daily (additional cost) which was fine. Service in the restaurant ranged from adequate to good. There were some lapses eg. forgetting to bring something ordered and the self service breakfast area was a bit messy one of the mornings. We were only staying 2 nights simply to see Yosemtie - it suited us as there are really very few places to stay as near. I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. WI fi has to be bought and we were told it didnt work vey well anyway so we didnt use it.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddleplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
345 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean, features a nice convenience store and two restaurants. Food is pricey but the only real option in the vicinity. Beautiful mountain surrounding and nice swimming pool. I would stay here again. Takes about 30-60 minutes to get to Yosemite valley parking from the lodge.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LW8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chertsey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Do not be fooled into thinking that this hotel is in the middle of Yosemite - it is NOT and is outside the park entrance. Having realised that Oakland was so near we wouldn't have booked this due to the cost

Rooms are good and clean. Wifi is paid and expensive and by all accounts keeps on disconnecting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padington_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Driving through Yosemite from San Francisco to Las Vegas and this was a welcome site after a long day of travelling. Well placed in a great location, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The wifi costs $10 per night, per device, which is a little irritating. There is an excellent bar and restaurant facility, with a great selection of draft beers and our waitress/barmaid Kathy was exceptional.

The room was clean and tidy and although maybe a little aged in terms of decor, it was more than ample. Breakfast the next morning did cost extra but was plentiful, reasonably priced and set us up well for another day of travelling. A peaceful and welcoming spot, would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungle_NI_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
14.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
5.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Property: Cedar Lodge
Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing