We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor out of season hours”

Cedar House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in El Portal
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor out of season hours”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Only opened for breakfast which was okay but for the most important meal of the day, dinner you had to eat in the bar with counter service and a lousy menu (Dreadful)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    64
    86
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The food was ordinary the service very slow and the decor depressing. There is nowhere else to eat.there was nothing to like about this place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely food and excellent value for breakfast (buffet). Great dinner menu but be prepared to wait for a table at busy times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pole2Pole_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food for an avarage price”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We ate here twice during our stay at the lodge. We thought the food was only average and quite fatty. I had the steak, which was nothing special. The other day I had the hamburger, that was quite nice so I choose that too the next day for my lunch. The last night we choose to drive to Mariposa for to find something better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and dinner - especially the braised beef”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast and dinner here on three days. The fixed price breakfast was excellent, with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit (the melon, pineapple and strawberries were deliciously refreshing), and a host of hot cooked items, including pancakes, toast, bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs, plus endless cups of coffee.
The menu for dinner was fairly small, and we probably ran through the whole thing between us over the three nights. I especially enjoyed the braised beef, which almost melted in the mouth, and also liked the chicken Marsala and the fish (I think halibut). All the meals came with soup and/or salad, which had a large selection of choices and dressings, and seemed fresh.
There was a large selection of wines and beers available, the waiting staff were friendly even though they we kept very busy, and we didn't have to wait at all for a table.
NB. We ate in the restaurant. There is also a diner, just round the corner - and I suspect that some of the other less positive reviews have rated that?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cedar House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing