We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 'proper' B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent 'proper' B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a really good time.
The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and good shower. (The only negative was the curtains, which let a lot of light in - not really a problem when we stayed in October but would be in the summer).
Excellent breakfasts -with really good tea!
Plenty of interesting conversation with our hosts and other guests, both over breakfast and over a cup of tea/coffee and a biscuit on an evening.
There's a decent restaurant and a good bar and pizza takeaway only 50 yards away in the adjacent motel. (The next nearest eating places are a long drive away).
Expensive, but then everywhere in the Yosemite area is. Draconian cancellation policies - but then they're all clearly stated on the website ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    30
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
456
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Thank you, Liz and Ron, for all you did to make our trip very special and memorable.

From the moment we arrived to the time we finally had to make our way home, Liz and Ron went out of their way to make us comfortable. They were extremely gracious hosts, the breakfasts were "to die for", our room was large and decorated with beautiful antiques, and they took the time to provide us with all the information we needed to find just what we were looking for in Yosemite. We have been to Yosemite a few times before, but this was the best visit we have had yet! We will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed overlooking the Merced, but if you aren't going to be at the Blue Butterfly much duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our second time at a bed and breakfast, so we don't have much to compare to. If this is your first visit to Yosemite, I definitely recommend you stay with Ron and Liz. They have lived at Yosemite many years and know EVERYTHING about the park and valley. If you are a rock climber (which we aren't), ask Ron about his extensive experience. He is still active and can tell you where to climb, etc.

The facility is immaculate.

Liz's breakfasts are the BEST. I work as an airline pilot and can tell you that I have never had a better breakfast in a hotel - free/included or otherwise. We stayed three nights and the menu was different each morning.

As for convenience to the park, only the adjacent hotel is as close to the park entrance. My mother and our two children stayed at the Yosemite View Lodge while we were in the Blue Butterfly Inn, so we were able to utilize their refrigerator. The gift shop/convenience store and restaurant there were handy, too.

Our visit was as expected and more. Just read the rules so that you are not surprised about a couple of things that a few reviewers didn't like. We don't mind following rules, so had a great visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is our third trip to Yosemite staying with Ron & Liz at the Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn. It's been a wonderful trip each time. The park is amazing - for someone who has always lived on the east coast, it is other worldly. Liz and Ron are also wonderful, we feel pampered every time we stay. Not only are the breakfasts great, but Ron & Liz are enthusiastic hosts who know every detail of the park and help make each trip memorable. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveller086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This B&B is located just outside the park entrance in El Portal. There are five rooms for a total of ten guests. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The location has the Merced River in their backyard, affording beautiful views from the outdoor patios. The most expensive room uses the entire third floor, is quite large and affords wraparound views. Forget TV here, but the wifi worked well. Breakfasts were well done. The hosts were very helpful with sight seeing and restaurant tips, both in the park and in the areas outside the park.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the moderately priced rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I can only add to the many excellent reviews already here - we stayed at the Blue Butterfly Inn for 3 nights in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. The location is lovely, the decks on the river are especially enjoyable (we saw a small bear on the opposite bank!), the rooms are very large and very comfortable and Liz & Ron are indeed really great hosts.

They were very friendly, full of suggestions on how to enjoy the park and produced very good breakfasts. They let us check in early, had no problem with us staying out late (stargazing trip) and plied us with tea and cookies at any opportunity. Many thanks!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatMorg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived on the first day of the Government shutdown and were concerned about what we'd be able to do. We had no need to worry as Ron & Liz had plenty of ideas of things to do & places to go which we're still accessible. The roads are open through Yosemite so we still saw El Capitan, Half Dome & Tunnel View. We also drove along Tioga Pass to Lee Vining & got more stunning views of Mono Lake & June Lake Loop & Mammoth Lake Loop. We also managed to find a grove of Sequoia trees which hadn't been closed!

After a full day we got back to the beautiful house where we had a cup of tea & Liz's freshly made cookies whilst sat on the balcony watching the hummingbirds on the feeders that Liz puts out for them. We discussed what we'd done during the day & exchanged stories with the other guests together with Ron & Liz.

This is an exceptional B&B with beautiful rooms with all the facilities you could want. Liz's freshly home cooked breakfast sets you up for the day and each days menu is different.

Thank you Ron & Liz for a wonderful time & we hardly noticed that there was a Government shutdown! We can' t wait for our next visit which will be as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJoGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
4.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
14.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
15.9 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
3.3 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Property: Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing