We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Live Up to the Hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a fine, clean hotel, but clearly not worth the high price --- we paid $220 for a basic room with two queen beds, no safe, no water, small bathroom with shower curtain -- only a half step up from a Holiday Inn Express. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTOR R, General Manager at Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback of your stay. We recognize our guests are looking for value for services provided by the hotel and we set our rates to be very competitive with similar hotels in the area. Depending on the dates of your stay, we often offer discounts through AAA or we have advance purchase rate discounts available that would offer a better value to our guests. Our rooms with king beds have showers with glass doors and our rooms with two queen beds have tubs with shower curtains, which families with young children find convenient. We hope that you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice, big and modern room with mini-fridge, iron, and free wifi. The hotel has a restaurant and bar, gym and outdoor pool. Free buffet breakfast and very friendly staff, especially at breakfast. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport, but make sure to call when you land to ask for the shuttle. Great option for stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTOR R, General Manager at Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hyatt Place in El Segundo CA and found our staff very friendly. As you mentioned we do offer free shuttle service to and from the airport from 5am to Midnight and it is on demand so guests need to call us from the airport to let us know where to pick them up. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This Hyatt is well-located and the rooms are up to the usual Hyatt standard, but the housekeeping service is very poor. We were two nights, and after the first night, the only housekeeping service was to make the beds, The bathroom was not cleaned, the dirty coffee cups were left untouched, and the carpet was not vacuumed.
When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, the reaction was that they had no control over housekeeping and could not take any action.
We have generally had good experiences at the Hyatt chain, but this one was extremely poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriffSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTOR R, General Manager at Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I apologize that we did not provide you with the excellent service we normally provide our guests. I have shared your experience with both the housekeeping staff and the front desk in order improve our service. if you would like to discuss or share anything else you might have experienced at our hotel feel free to call me at the hotel, I would be delighted to receive any feedback you have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. Minutes from the airport, really close to manhattan beach, and it's cozy, modern, and actually new. Ignore all the nonsense you hear about this place being noisy, it's not. The LRT Metro that's in front of the hotel isn't a bother and it won't keep you up at night. Keep in mind that there isn't a restaurant in the hotel nor much within walking distance but if you have a car there's lots that are just a couple of blocks away (had to run to a walgreens and it's literally 2 minutes away). This hotel is perfect for the traveller who isn't looking to spend half their trip in the hotel taking in their services but rather the ideal spot to come home to after grueling excursions in LA. Note there are no safes within the rooms but speak to reception about getting a safety deposit box in the back to store your valuables. Also, free breakfast and wifi, win! Would definitely stay here again! Thank you Hyatt Place for an awesome experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTOR R, General Manager at Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome stay at the Hyatt Place in El Segundo and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We look forward to you staying with us again on your next trip to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

As our long haul flight from Australia arrived at LAX very early in the morning and we were tired and needed to sleep, we were very impressed with Hyatt Place. They had a room available and offered us breakfast, all without fuss and a smile, at 8:30 in the morning! We were very grateful. The rooms are large, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The hotel itself is decorated in a minimalist style, very clean lines,a slightly "Ikea" feel but the hotel has everything a traveller needs for a comfortable stay.We stayed for 3 nights. The pool area is very well maintained and the pool is heated so we enjoyed our swim, even though it was February.
Breakfast has plenty of choices each day. The hotel is situated a short walk from the Nash St Green line metro station, and only a 10 min walk from a Ralphs supermarket and takeaway shops.The free shuttle is a plus but you do need to phone from LAX to notify them of your arrival.We will use Hyatt Place again.
There is a bar and cafe onsite but we didn't use it so can not comment.

Room Tip: maybe one of the higher floors and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for three nights. The hotel is only about two years old, so everything is still new and nice. The double room was so nice. The bathroom was amazing and super modern. The breakfast each day was delicious and fresh. It want just a continental breakfast, but they had sandwiches, waffles, sausages, eggs, etc. The breakfast attendant Kena was so nice and welcoming. This is a great alternative to staying in the heart of Hollywood or Beverly Hills. And it's around the corner from LAX. I would totally stay here again and recommend anyone I know to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank YeaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

What makes me happy: a modern and well-appointed room. Great wi-fi, easy parking and accessibility to the freeway and airport. While there's not a formal restaurant here you do get free breakfast (though I did not partake). Plus there are plenty of options in the general area, including a Starbucks within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again. Good value, good experience, good night's sleep.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Segundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hyatt Regency Los Angeles International Airport
Cambria LAX
#6 of 13 in El Segundo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo

Address: 750 N Nash St, El Segundo, CA 90245-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > El Segundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in El Segundo
Price Range: £109 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place LAX hotel in El Segundo is located less than 3 miles south from LAX International and 2 miles from the beach, with easy access to the 105 Freeway, yet away from the noise and congestion of W Century Boulevard. Our guests enjoy spacious rooms, a location near the airport but away from the noise, and complimentary amenities like free LAX shuttle service, hotel-wide WiFi, an electric car charging station, and a daily hot breakfast buffet. An onsite 24-hour Gallery menu serves light bites, salads, sandwiches, coffee, cocktails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place LAX El Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing