We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday is a great day for dinner here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marmalade Cafe

Marmalade Cafe
Ranked #19 of 155 Restaurants in El Segundo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We take great pride in our restaurants and view them as a personal reflection of ourselves. Consequently we only hire employees who are as excited about our operations as we are. Our concept is very simple. Customers enjoy dining in a spectacular environment matched with wonderful food and fully attentive service. When you visit us you will see that we have provided just that.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wednesday is a great day for dinner here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I were transiting in LAX. Our daughter happened to be here for work too. So we decided to have dinner together. She said that she knew of the Marmalade Cafe. She ate breakfast in one of them quite long ago.
This restaurant is less than 3 miles from our hotel. So it made sense to eat here. We arrived at about 8:30 pm and we were hungry. We didn't make any reservation. At this hour, the restaurant was not as crowded.
I order a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc to go with our meals. The waiter told us that today, Wednesday, the wine is at half price. We "lucked out." He also mentioned that should you bring your own bottle today, there is no corkage. My wife order the grilled salmon, my daughter lamb burger and I had Grilled Shrimp pasta. My pasta was very good so were the salmon and lamb burger. The waiter was attentive.
I like this place a lot and will try to find one whenever I am Los Angeles.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    57
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Chefs here deserve better "up front" service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Seldom has a place been so "under serviced". The place is very nice, food excellent, priced reasonably (lunch about $25-30 for 2), especially if you spilt the entrees, which we did not, but will next time (they are delicious, but huge ).
HOWEVER-MESSAGE TO MANAGEMENT: fix the service. The place suffers from too few wait staff, too many "greeters" talking to each other at the hostess table. The service is beyond slow. We could have walked out 15 minutes after arriving without anyone asking what we wanted to order. The water glasses were left empty till we asked for water, and then only one of us had their glass filled until we said something. There was one waiter ( with long hair) who was really working hard, seeing to service HALF the tables AND an outdoor party. Not his fault- the place is not managed well. Food=excellent. Atmosphere=good( a little too cute, but good, clean, well lighted). Service=> place the manager on probation until he/ she gets the right number of correctly trained staffers working up front. The kitchen is turning out really good food. Don't make it so hard to be a customer here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trythis-maybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is SUCH a great place for brunch! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, DELICIOUS food. I especially love the almond granola pancakes... Soooo tasty! Lots of parking is available and there are lots of stores nearby. Nice place to spend a Sunday morning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food good, service a bit lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

1st visit, food was very good, service too. 2nd time, food was so-so, service a bit slow. Now, this 3rd time, went b/4 the dinner rush (about 4:30pm), seated right away (hardly anybody in the place), waiter was a bit slow in getting to the table, food was a bit slow in getting to us,(it was tasty but a bit on the cold side), after the meal was eaten the waiter was no where to be seen, had to ask a "busboy" to please have the waiter bring our check, so at this point, we may not return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJWca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I come here for breakfast a few times a month. Food and service are always excellent! Had my birthday dinner here last month too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachlove21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmalade Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marmalade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing