We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food”
Review of Greenwood Pier Cafe - CLOSED

Greenwood Pier Cafe
Restaurant details
Soquel, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

great food but service slow due to overwhelming response of local and Inn guests; however, only 2nd night of re-opening café, so I am sure they will be adding more employees to improve their service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly Rude Service”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have never been treated so poorly and disrespectfully at a restaurant in my life. I was told that the restaurant had only been open for five days, which leads me to believe that it has undergone new ownership and would explain why the prior reviews are so positive yet our experience was so negative. The older man who served us and I believe is the restaurant's general manager was so rude and condescending that my boyfriend and I left in the middle of the meal. From the moment we sat down he was abrasive and demeaning. Finally, I asked him a question about a beautiful, historic-looking building on the Inn's property and instead of answering, he repeated my question back to me, mocking the way I asked it. At this point we had enough of his elitist, condescending attitude and left before we received our main dish. I have never made a complaint about service or sent food back in my life, let alone left a restaurant during a meal. However, we were in shock by the way we were treated and did not need to pay to be treated like we were idiots.

I should note that the younger server was very kind and accommodating. It is unfortunate that this older man ruined the entire experience with his attitude. After we left we went next door to Bridget Dolan's Pub to finish our meal. We had a great experience and the woman who worked there was wonderful. I would highly recommend going there over the new Greenwood Pier Cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food - Limited Menu”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Greenwood Pier Cafe was very quaint and located on the main road through Elk. The menu was very limited with only a few selections. The day my wife and I stopped in for an early dinner (around 5:30), the cafe was already out of two menu items and they were also out of lettuce. The items they did have in stock were very well prepared and very tasty. Service we attentive and very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vpjp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“okay meal; nice setting”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Greenwood Pier Cafe has a scenic location on Highway 1 overlooking the Pacific Ocean, but the food is just average. Much tastier options available at other restaurants closer to Mendocino. My rib eye steak had less flavor than I expect. Essentially a husband-and-wife operation, with the husband cooking the food and the wife working the dining room. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSteveCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views, cool music”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It was a wonderful way to top off our weekend with a Sunday brunch on the way home. The food was very tasty and well presented. We ate outside and the owners were very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenwood Pier Cafe also viewed

 
Elk, Mendocino County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing