We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My partner and I along with our little min pin loved this inn on the coast and the Hideaway room we stayed in. After killing several spiders which is not uncommon in a forest type environment, we enjoyed our stay and the EXCELLENT service we received. The continental breakfast we enjoyed was far and beyond any continental we have ever experienced. It was actually a full breakfast with the continental title. The views are Million dollar from the property and dining room. When you visit a place like this on vacation, you don't want nor should you need cellular service. For emergencies or for those that just can't relax and leave the world behind there is a house phone available for all free of charge. You can even use magic jack through the free Wifi on the property. WOW. Love this place. They provided all the fixings for a beach fire without additional charge. This was great. Even though the beach is public, the town is so small that you may only run into others from the Inn on the beach; making it really a private beach for the resort. The room so far more superior to that of the Marriott and made us feel as though we were home in our own bedroom. The large flat screen TV with satellite and the directions on how to use them is like nothing I have ever seen in all of our travels. The Elk left nothing to chance. I could not believe how large the bathroom was and the shower; which is large enough for 3-4 people-not suggesting anything. The staff is very gay friendly. The town itself is gay friendly as there is at least 2 gay run businesses in this very small town. Maybe both are owned by the same person; in either case display a very large rainbow flag on the front of their businesses. Our little child (min pin) was welcomed everywhere without question. I will always cherish our time spent in Elk. Thank you Elk Cove Inn for a wonderful time and experience.

Room Tip: Know this is a small Bed and Breakfast type experience. Don't look for bell boys, car hops or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    38
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
413
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

All of the raves are well deserved. This is a friendly, comfortable inn, situated in a spectacular location. The amenities are terrific, the breakfast is outstanding (creative, different from the usual fare), the staff is cordial. Appreciated the gift basket, the happy hour treats, the upper deck and gaming room, the gazebo overlooking the cove. Perfect. My wife and I stopped over on our way up the California coast, and would go back again, for sure. Tip: Although the rooms are kind of pricey, there is one room in the main building that is more modestly priced--cozy but very nice.

Room Tip: Tip: Although the rooms are kind of pricey, there is one room in the main building that is more mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miata97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my Miniature Pincher Max stayed here. The owner and the staff catered to our every need. I had stayed at the Marriot, Fishermans Warf in San Fransisco prior to Elk Cove and the Elk Cove Inn & Spa far exceeded the Marriot in both customer service and ammenities. The Elk Cove had the best continental breakfast that I have ever had in all my travels. I stayed in the Hide Away suite which was very large, spacous and well lit with natural light. Granted there was absolutely no cell phone service which I will point out IS OUT OF THE INNS CONTROL, but they do everything they can to compensate for their patrons by providing free WiFi and Magic Jack service which is an internet based phone system that can be used from the WiFi service and your cell phone. There was a spectacular view of the beach from the premises particularly from the gazebo which is near the edge of the cliff. There is beach access from the premises which is also a pet friendly beach. Elk Cove is a wonderfully romantic get away and I recommend staying here with or without pets. The garden on the grounds is just breath taking. The citizens of Elk are also very friendly and will make you feel right at home. If I ever traveled back through this area, I would definitly stay at the Elk Cove Inn & Spa again. Please keep in mind that the ammenities, customer service and peaceful location are well worth the price of a room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kefka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aptos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I went to this fabulous getaway on a couples weekend with friends. We arrived mid afternoon and enjoyed two days of comfort, relaxation and fabulous breakfasts. Whatever we needed was taken care of graciously with smiling faces....and the suggestions for restaurants and activities were spot on. The Elk Cove Inn is well situated on a bluff overlooking a fabulous beach, with crashing waves and sunsets that inspired the soul....We will be repeat customers for sure! Thank you Elaine, Mary and the rest of the fabulous staff!!

Room Tip: We upstairs suites are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardengarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've been visiting the Inn since the '80's and always have a most enjoyable stay. Perfect setting for relaxing, beachcombing, listening to the waves, and watching the weather change. The staff this past visit was most attentive. The grounds are beautifully kept despite the battering of the nearby ocean. The original guest cabins retain a cozy, rustic charm that I prefer when staying on the north coast. The breakfasts are fabulous. My wife and I have talked a lot about our stay since returning home. It's always a vacation that we remember fondly for months afterward and that is priceless.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Literally I thought I was a VIP with last night's stay in the Seascape room overlooking the ocean. The gentle breaking waves, the fresh air smell, the long day of summer solstice, the beauty of the location and then the fact that the Inn itself left me wanting for nothing. I really don't think I could give a better rating than #5 most excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Elk, Ca is one of the most scenic places on the west coast and the Elk Cove Inn & Spa property is right there. Unfortunately, the inn is showing it's age. My impression is that the owner/innkeepers try hard enough but fall short of ones expectation, given the cost of staying there. Our room's furniture was quite worn and the arms of the chairs were worn and dirty. The handle in the shower was worn and loose, etc. The breakfast was very good though. In my view, simply not worth the cost of the stay. Oh, no cell service at the inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livetoeat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
13.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
12.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
23.5 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk Cove Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Property: The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Address: 6300 S Highway 1, Elk, CA 95432-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elk Cove Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Elk Cove Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk Cove Hotel Elk
The Elk Cove Inn And Spa
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing