We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your appetite!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stopped at the Inn without a reservation. The friendly lady at the reception showed me around. The smaller room at the ground floor suited us fine. We checked in and were welcomed with a gift basket right on the spot. Even though the room is situated near the parking area and the road it is nice and quiet.

In the afternoon with a glass of wine, enjoy the scenery sitting in the garden or under the gazebo. Or explore the private beach and watch the sunset.

After a good night rest: bring your appetite to the breakfast room! A breakfast buffet, with all sorts of delicious items: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cinnamon buns, eggs and bacon, special walnut sauce, more than you could wish for and all to be enjoyed with the stunning view of the ocean.

Room Tip: I scored the sleep quality 3/5 because we felt that the mattress showed the first signs of getting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malloten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    38
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
411
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Celebrated a big milestone with my loved one here; I'm just back today after a long weekend at the Elk Cove Inn.

First, the setting. Waves crash rhythmically along the perfect shallow crescent of Elk Cove, which filled the bay window in our Wave Watcher suite when all you wanted was look and sound, but was accessible via a private stair when you wanted to see and feel. A shallow wetland sits just south of the Inn, allowing frequent glimpses of waterfowl taking wing from breakfast in the main house; a natural bridge at the south end of the cove is great to explore when the tide is low.

Next, the building. Suite had expansive line-of-sight views of the water from a large bay window which was thoughtfully fitted with full-span blackout blinds so the view didn't get in the way of good rest. King size bed was commodious (if a wee bit concave / sprung --- definitely found myself slumping toward the center / -1 star for mediocre ged). Slipper tub in nicely fitted bathroom with dual set-top porcelain sinks; shower was four-part with separate head, shoulders and waist nozzle plus hand sprayer.

Lastly, the food. Hands down the best breakfast I've had at a B&B in the state of California. The menu shifts constantly, so during our stay we were surprised by new delectable menu items each day; the gratineed polenta in a tomato reduction on day 1 was replaced by poached eggs on a savory hash for day 2 etc.; staples like their morning pie (cottage cheese based, halfway between cheese- and coffee-cake) and scrambled eggs were not greasy in the slightest, and reliable savory awesomeness (+1 star for the fantastic food).

All in all a fabulous place to stay. Joe F. and other have noted that the town is dead --- don't go for the urban milieu, as there is none; go for astounding natural beauty and expect to spend a day exploring south (Point Arena Light and vanishing coast) and one north (Mendocino Town and

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_Sterling_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The room was more than perfect, the host's attention to detail is overwhelming (in a good way). Everything we could have possibly needed was there, set in a modern yet very charming and cozy interior. The homemade breakfast was to die for. Will definitely recommend to friends and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked here because my husband remembered that there had been an article on the redwoods in an old copy of National Geographic, and this hotel was featured in the magazine! On arrival we were shown the garden view room we had booked, but we were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room for $50 extra, and after seeing the Greenwood room with its window looking out over the sea, we were enchanted (and were happy to eat ham and cheese sandwiches for supper rather than going to a restaurant to balance out the budget!) This is a gracious place with a feel of a bygone era. It is charming and rustic and surrounded by flowers, birds, and trees (with an incredible view of the sea, and the fog rolling in and out again to reveal the islands just offshore.) A welcome basket with wine and strawberries was provided, and port and chocolates were waiting in the room. The breakfast was excellent although the dining room was a bit stuffy and overheated for our taste. We had a memorable stay in this unexpectedly delightful little hotel on California's beautiful Mendocino coast. The next morning we drove through the little town of Elk just up the road from the hotel, and it was picturesque and pretty. I would recommend this place for a peaceful and romantic getaway.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was my daughters second time to stay here, my first. Everyone here is so dedicated to making sure you have a great stay. The breakfast is fantastic and happy hour was great. We turned a one night stay into two and still didn't want to leave. When we asked about having a fire on the beach we were given everything we needed to get it started. Just had to gather driftwood. You also get a very nice welcome basket when you arrive and there is port and chocolates in the cabin. And they remembered my daughter from her previous visit. Out little "cabin" was very comfortable and had a great view of the ocean. If I am ever that way again I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylady1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We took the scenic route (Highway 1) to get there, and, after hours of driving on never-ending windy roads, we arrived a little weak-stomached and green-faced. The Elk Cove Inn did not disappoint! Beautiful vistas, incredible breakfast (don't miss it - delish!), comfortable rooms, and welcoming (but not intrusive) innkeepers. They even made sure we had a good breakfast on our last morning when we were racing to catch our flight out of San Fran. Excellent customer service!

Our family stayed in a variety of rooms, and we agreed that Seascape was probably our favorite because of the views and comfort of the room. We also liked the Frank Drew and Sam McCanse suites. The only problem with the Frank Drew room was that the screen door didn't seem to lock, so I couldn't leave the door open at night and listen to the ocean. That was a bummer.

Elaine was a tremendous help in planning our trip. She has good advice and offers various suggestions via email. I enjoyed working with her.

If you are in the Elk area, don't miss the Elk Cove Inn. It is pricey, and you pay a lot even for the small rooms, but we all slept and ate well...and had a great time reading our books/magazines while looking out over the cliffs and ocean. Thank you Elk Cove for a great visit.

Room Tip: Seascape was our fav room. Frank Drew is on the ground floor--consider that if you want to sleep wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Elk Cove Inn and Spa. We spent there 2 nights and stayed in the L.E. White junior suite. We loved our room, the view from the room was magnificent. Breakfast was wonderful, the hotel staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay, it was perfect for our romantic getaway. We'll be back some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sestrenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
13.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
21.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
20.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
12.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk Cove Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Property: The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Address: 6300 S Highway 1, Elk, CA 95432-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Elk Cove Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk Cove Hotel Elk
The Elk Cove Inn And Spa
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing