We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star struck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay at Elk Cove Inn was wonderful. The room was very comfortable. The view was awesome both day and night. We happened to be there when the sky was clear and the moon had not yet risen. The staff was so friendly and the breakfast outstanding. We are looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

The super friendly staff, beautiful view and delicious breakfast make this B&B a great place to visit. We had a room with a view of the cove and a wood-burning stove which the staff prepared for a fire each morning so all we had to do was strike a match. In addition, upon arrival, we were given a basket with a bottle of wine, fresh-baked cookies, popcorn, and grapes. There were afternoon snacks and drinks in the lounge area each afternoon and an outstanding breakfast buffet each morning. To finish the evening, there was a carafe of port on the dresser. They thought of everything! Great place!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. You'll pay a little more, but it's worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GtwnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Wow, great setting, great service, great food.... A little pricey but willing to pay for the experience!!!!! I would recommend this place and I am a pretty picky person;) my best friend got married there and overall it was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splitfired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful cove with fabulous views. The innkeepers are wonderful, helpful people that enjoy what they do. The breakfast each morning was very tasty and bountiful, each afternoon they offer an open bar to serve yourself cocktails. Afternoons sitting in an Adirondack chair with your drink of choice, gazing at the surf and sunset was very enjoyable.The B&B is conveniently located close to towns that offer several choices for dining.

Room Tip: Surfsong is a quaint, charming seaside room but very small. The bathroom ceiling is very low and is...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetoexplore16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

By far the best B&B I have stayed in. The staff super friendly and helpful, very clean,many little surprises such as the welcome basket, the sherry and chocolate in our room. But I can not express how outstanding the breakfast was, combined with a breath taking view I did not want to leave. I be back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronistark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Any one experience here at the Inn would make it an all-time favorite: gourmet breakfast, delicious view of the cove from our breakfast table, sweet doe we met on our hike to town, cypress trees whispering in the breeze, or the fabulous massahhhhhhhhhge. What makes ELk Cove Inn the BEST is innkeeper Elaine, who greets us with a hug, her inimitable accent, and her 5-foot (if that) cuteness! We feel as if the spirit of Boomer and Asta prevailed, now that some rooms are pet friendly. My best friend and I plan to return for 20 more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haveopinionwilltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Perfect. I couldn't fault it. Cheerful, helpful staff, fabulous location, great rooms and the best breakfast in California. Stayed three nights and wished we had stayed longer. The rugged, almost private, cove was suitably mysterious in the morning mists and a wonderful setting for this interesting B&B . A perfect base to visit the vineyards and forests with some thigh tingling local walks. Our favourite Hotel/B&B on our 2 week, 6 location stay in CA.

Room Tip: They are all great value.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
13.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
21.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
12.2 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk Cove Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk Cove Inn & Spa

Address: 6300 S Highway 1, Elk, CA 95432-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range: £118 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elk Cove Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Elk Cove Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk Cove Hotel Elk
The Elk Cove Inn And Spa
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing