We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm moving to Elk!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Griffin House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Griffin House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'm moving to Elk!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and I just got back from a 4 day trip to Elk, and this was our 1st stay at the Griffin House Inn. We were pleased with our ocean view cottage (the Matson). We found out after we got there, that the Matson is the smallest of the 3 ocean-front cottages and we had brought a lot of gear with us, but we were still able to fit in just fine with a little creative thinking. This room has recently been updated with a new bathroom and new hardwood floors which were very nice. The view off of the private deck is nothing short of spectacular. We had been staying at the Heritage House in Little River on our prior trips to the coast (now the Heritage House is unfortunately closed), but the views of the stunning cliffs and rock formations of Greenwood Cove at the Griffin House were even more stunning than the view from Heritage House. We found the staff very friendly--especially Melanie and Steve. The only service issue we had was the housekeeper forgot to restock the soaps/shampoos and kleenex, but once we told her she quickly re-stocked it for us and it was not a big deal. There were a couple of space challenges with the room. The remodeled bathroom was beautiful and had nice new tiling, but did not have much counter space. We just grabbed a couple of the small side tables from the deck and put them in the bathroom to increase the counter space. Also, there is no closet or armoire to hang clothes. They have a couple of hooks on the wall for this purpose, but the hooks are right behind the chairs in the sitting area, so you had to reach over the chairs and hang up your clothes/coats which was a little strange. If you require more space, you might want to consider the Donohue cottage instead, which is also an ocean view cottage with a window seat and a breakfast nook. The Greenwood cottage is also nice, although when we stepped in and took a quick look, the flooring in the bathroom is a little damaged in a couple of spots. The Greenwood and Donohue cottages don't have all the fancy updates of the Matson, but they do have the same spectacular private view and a lot more room. Bottom line is this place was totally relaxing and quiet, which was just what we needed. The only sounds I heard from the time we went to sleep to the time they brought us coffee and breakfast in the morning was the sounds of ocean waves. And if you luck out with the weather, you will never see so many stars as we did sitting on our deck at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SameTimeNextYear_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

We booked an oceanfront cottage several months in advance and I asked the innkeeper to recommend one since we had not been to the property. I was surprised to find that the one he gave us was the only one not renovated and definitely much more rustic; I would choose a different one if we returned. All the cabins do have a wonderful view and we enjoyed our stay. We were visiting on a holiday weekend and they seem seriously understaffed. The innkeeper does all the checking in and out while serving simultaneously at the pub and restaurant and there was only one other waitress. As there are only 2 restaurants in town, it's busy! Full breakfasts were delivered to the cabin which was a nice touch. Understaffed and a little rough around the edges for the price but we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Griffin House. It was quiet and the room was spacious, with a sitting room, bedroom, and large bathroom. The decor was simple (perhaps even sparse) and the room had certainly seen better days. For what you get the price is a bit much. However, we very much enjoyed our stay. We would probably stay there again. Given that there were two ocean view rooms available when we checked in at 9 in the evening, we would absolutely stay again had they upgraded us. Easy way to ensure repeat business, but not one they chose to employ.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank pmckerral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Stayed at the Griffin House In last weekend and had a nice stay. We stayed in the Greenwood room which has a huge deck overlooking the ocean with very cool rock formations. The room itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the linens were good and the wood fired stove kept us warm.

The only negative is that the bathroom feels a bit less glamorous than the rest of the room. Small shower and linoleum flooring feels like it could use an update.

Overall, we really liked the hotel - very relaxing, yummy breakfast right in your room and romantic evenings watching the fog over the ocean.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2007

New ownership has this B&B in transition mode. We had one of the ocean view cabins and the view and location are priceless!! The cabin was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast being delivered to the room is very nice but lacked the quality we expected. Coffee comes first and which is nice but it had the flavor of not being freshing brewed. On arrival the manager had me park under a dead pine tree which dumped huge amounts of needles and bark onto my vechile, when I mentioned this to a staff member I was met with a degree of apathy and a definsive apology but no solution was offered. The food at the pub was acceptable but did not match the price. Would I return there? perhaps, but then, there are many places to be experienced.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank OlRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

My husband and I were looking for a simple weekend get away for our anniversary, and Elk fit our needs. If you choose to travel to Elk and can stand windy roads, while on hwy 128 (About 7 miles before 128 hits hwy 1) you will see a very small sign that says Elk and points to the left (Philo Greenwood Rd), take it. You will see why we loved this drive, especially as you approach the coast.

The town of Elk is very small, less than 250 people. Although we read that some people have called the people of the town, "mad", we found just the opposite. This was especially true of the staff at The Griffin House Inn.

As we drove up at the hotel, we were greeted by the blooming flowers and pretty blue and white building that housed the Bridget Dolan Restaurant. We registered quickly and on our way to our cottage (Smith), we were given a split of wine. Unfortunately, there were no ocean view cottages available that weekend. If you want one, call early. The Smith cottage was the cottage closest to the main building. Smith cottage was very cute with a large bathroom, small living area (with a reclining chair, dining table and wood burning stove), cozy bedroom and small back yard with deck and chairs. The bedroom had double French doors that opened right out to the deck. In the mornings we enjoyed opening the doors and watching the humming birds frolic. A couple actually flew into our room and looked around before flying back out again.

The decor of the cottage was decidedly country, without being "country clutter". The bathroom was very large with a claw foot tub. My husband and I brought a well stocked cooler (our fridge) and used the top of the wood burning stove to heat up pre made goodies that we wrapped in foil.

The positives:
- Location, it felt remote not too much : )
- The cottage was well decorated and we especially loved the back yard area, and not phones or TV., but lots of books
- The staff was great, very attentive.
- The bed was wonderful. Very comfortable.
- Breakfast was great. When we called they asked us about any diet restrictions, I thought that was thoughtful. One day thick sliced bacon with a cheese frittata and fresh backed scones. The next day was French toast with apple chicken sausage and fresh fruit. Coffee was delivered to our door by 9:00 am each day, with breakfast arriving shortly there after.
- Wood was brought into our cottage each day.

The negatives:
-The cottage was not a stand alone and our neighbors were a little noisy. We just turned up our cd player. Bring your own, there is not one in the room.
-Although you have you own yard space, you can hear the people who work at the business next door. Plus an inn next door has a balcony that can see into the yard and deck area.
-The restaurant was not very good. We ordered baked potatoes and bread pudding. The potatoes were burnt and the bread pudding was two slices of bread with raisins and apples between them with a very "Hard" icing. We could not eat them.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want a relaxed place to connect with he person you love, this is it. We wanted to just be away from it all for the weekend and, for us The Griffin House Inn worked great for us. We look forward to going back.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — loud neighbors
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east bay, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

my husband booked one of the cottages - the Kestrel, to be exact - which is right on the cliff with a private deck overlooking the water/cove. this particular cottage has been updated, so while the other reviews indicated their rooms were "rustic," that was ABSOLUTELY not our experience. the room was absolutely beautiful - like something out of a magazine ad. it is not a large space - but i found it very cozy...this cottage does not come with a tub, but the standing shower is quite nice...and roomy enough for two :)

the service was wonderful - the dinner at Bridget Dolan's pub was perfect - just the right portions - I had the scallops and shrimp with dried apricots and roasted almond slivers...and the Bridget Dolan beer they have available is actually quite good.

the very friendly owner handed us a bottle of wine when we arrived...and they brought us our breakfast to the cottage in the morning - french toast, coffee, and fruit.

if you are there over the weekend, check out the local museum down the street (open 11-1 i think)...its interesting to see the history of the area - and then go back to your cottage and use the binoculars that the Griffin House will lend you to check out the rock outcroppings and see the remnants of the old business.

all in all, this was a breathtaking and romantic experience.

  • Liked — the incredible view
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
12.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
20.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
8.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
11.8 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin House Inn

Property: The Griffin House Inn
Address: 5910 South Highway One, PO Box 190, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Griffin House Hotel Elk
The Griffin House Inn Elk, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing