We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners concerned more about money than their guests”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New owners concerned more about money than their guests”
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We reserved a room in March 2005, but had to cancel due to illness. The cancellation policy at that time was that the owners would keep the deposit in full, and it could be used for future reservations, with no expiration.
Not having been informed of new ownership, when we tried to book a reservation in Oct 2007, using our $340 deposit (for which the new owners still have a receipt), we were told that the new owners would not honor our deposit because this deposit money was not transferred to them when they purchased the Inn. Clearly they are concerned most about their wallets, and care little about the comfort of their guests (or potential guests). We lost $340, they lost future guests, including us. We would have stayed three nights, but we will find more comfortable inns in the Mendocino area. Lesson learned: read cancellation policies carefully.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank 66Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We recently were lucky enough to have our wedding at the Harbor House Inn. The staff made everything about the day truly memorable. The view from the Inn is breathtaking and each room is a hidden jewel. The Inn itself is a beautiful arts and crafts style Inn with amazing gardens The staff did everything to make the day run smoothly from providing bottles of water to finding an extension cord. My family and friends were all made to feel at home. Jenni was helpful throughout the planning process. The food is wonderful and fresh. The Harbor House is a unique, wonderful place in one of the most beautiful places along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jb3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Peninsula
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Oregon, not Elk, was our destination. On that particular day we didn't want to continue on to Mendocino and noticed that Elk had several B&B accommodations. We arrived close to 7 pm after a tiring drive up Highway 1 (very twisty stretches) and, presumably because we had no reservation, we were given a late arrival discount and the option to take dinner (usually included in the room rate). Though the meal seemed to be an excellent value, we needed something a bit lighter and less formal. The innkeeper referred us to Bridget Dolan's Pub (walking distance), which fit the bill perfectly. Good draft beers, and the best homemade chicken pot pie ever!

We stayed in the Oceansong cottage -- beautiful room with a fantastic unobstructed view of the cove (check the website) -- were in bed by 9 pm but got up a couple hours later to sit out on the private deck watching the stars. Breakfast is prepared to order, and we looked through albums documenting the history of Elk and the Harbor House while we waited.

We would seriously consider returning to Elk, and next time would use Hwy 128 to access the coast.

  • Liked — location, decor, and comfort
  • Disliked — When we arrived home, innkeeper had mailed us a charge slip for the room tax they forgot to quote us or charge us.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank zinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We stayed for two nights in the Lookout suite, with it's rooftop terrace framing the most amazing view on the coast- huge rocks enfolding a wild harbor and beautiful garden grounds. May seems to be the perfect time to go- we had no fog, and sunny, mild weather.

Next time I think we'd stay in Seaview cottage instead, separate from main house, because it, too has outstanding views and private deck.

Dinner and breakfast are included in deal, and are outstanding, and the whole dining experience perfect.

After viewing other accommodations on the Mendocino coast, I am still convinced that this was absolutely the best choice- we liked it far better than staying in Mendocino, both for views, and peacefulness. We visited the Mendocino botanic gardens- worth the visit, and more satisfying than shopping in Mendocino.

Other guests in the Inn rented kayaks and took them through the natural rock tunnels below us, and loved it. We did walk down the steep cliff to the gravelly beaches below and explored the tide pools and formations at low tide- it was exquisite- breath-taking views and sensory nature at every step.

The staff was mixed- some very capable and appropriately personable, some too talkative or not aware, but the food top-notch, the rooms beautiful and luxurious and clean, and we have never had a more beautiful visual experience than the views and gardens.

The gardener was intelligent, knowledgeable, and eager to share gardener's challenges regarding salt-spray and deer repellent,- a true artist.

We will go back-
At first glance, the price seems high, until you realize that a 4-course dinner and lavish breakfast are included- then- the value is worth far more, and we considered the stay a true bargain.

Helpful?
8 Thank gardenquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

The Harbor House Inn was a great place to stay. The staff was great and very helpful. It is in a very quiet location that has great views of the ocean. The food was excellent! I would highly recommend this for those who are just looking to get away.

  • Liked — The views and the food
  • Stayed November 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank honee_bee616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

When you are first taken to the dining room, the impression is great. We got discounted rates and thought the value would be great. We were so wrong.
The room was worn down. The service was poor as was the food. I was surprised about all of this and tried to fix things with Jenny, but was ignored.
If all you want is views, stay here. If food, service and ammenities are important stay elsewhere.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelinWillbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Wa.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2006

The Harbor House Inn is a 2 story house on the outskirts of the small Ocean side town of Elk. The inn is very nicely done and the gardens are pretty. It is a property where you could sit out on the lawn and just look at the ocean for the entire stay and be happy. When you stay there the price (rather high) includes dinner. The dinners were pretty good but you better like what they serve-usually there are 2 choices. The other problem with having them provide dinner is that you have to be back to the inn at dinnertime. Some times we would have to modify our excursions to meet dinnertime.

  • Liked — The terrific ocean view and the great property landscaping
  • Disliked — Locked into dinner
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gemco309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
12.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
0.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
617 reviews
7.0 mi away
Albion River Inn
Albion River Inn
#1 of 3 in Albion
309 reviews
10.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House Inn

Property: The Harbor House Inn
Address: 5600 S Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Hotel Elk
The Harbor House Inn Elk, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing