We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ultimate Place to Get Away To” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Place to Get Away To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is such a remarkable place! From first driving up along the coast to leaving a couple days later, we were amazed. The view from this secluded hotel is amazing, with a rocky cliff coastline, and the gardens are very well maintained, with many spots to sit and watch the waves. There is a little path down to the private beach that is fun to walk.
We drove a little further down the coast on one of our days there and saw a few of the surrounding towns and more coast line.
Our room, the Cypress, was huge and had the most comfortable bed! The room has a private patio overlooking the coast, and a fun claw footed tub.
Both breakfast and dinner were scrumptious. There are lots of choices every morning with lots of fresh fruit as well. Each of the four courses of dinner were beautifully prepared and very delicious.
This is definitely a place to go if you want to relax, unwind and do nothing, which everybody should do at some point in their life. No TV, no internet (while we were there), no busy tourist town, just yourselves, a beach and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LariJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
palo alto , ca, usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were driving up Highway 1, heading towards Medicino without a plan, and the folks at the River's End recommended Harbor House. What a find! The price included the room, an amazing breakfast, and a 5-course gourmet meal. The view from our cottage room was just incredible. The grounds are lovingly manicured, with a small private grey-stone beach. There's a fire/living room to sit in. And our room -- so incredibly cozy, spacious, and romantic. With a clawfoot tub. Did I mention the food? Who would have thought of collard greens with pasta except for a chef from New Orleans? This stop made the whole trip worthwhile. The staff is authentic and helpful. Forget the internet, doesn't work, along with your cell.

Elk doesn't have much to recommend it, but the Harbor House is just divine. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

if your PRIVACY is Important DON'T STAY HERE

Stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks back.

On more than three Occasions Harbor House Inn gave out my personal information to or in front of strangers.

The first incident happened when the server for dinner decided to verbalize a private message that had been left for me at the front desk in front of my guest and all of the patrons in the restaurant.

Over the next 2 days an employee(s) of this establishment gave out intimate details of my visit and who was staying with me, not once but on at least three occasions!

Im single, but my personal life is private.

Ive traveled the world and stayed in many 5 star resorts and establishments. Never in over 30 years of travel has my privacy and personal information been violated like it was at Harbor House Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Worldtravelerdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Harbor House Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
The Harbor House Inn does not disclose its guests personal information. Like any hotel, we take messages for our guests and pass on the information left by the caller, unless instructed by the guest at the time of check in, that they are not expecting any calls nor do they wish to be disclosed as a guest of the Inn. It is standard practive to take messages for guests. "We sympathize with this particular guests situation, however, we don't feel we did anything wrong by merely taking a message for our guests".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is my second visit to the Inn and it was truly a memorable experience for me and my family. The Inn is situated just south of Mendocino overlooking a beautiful cove in the Pacific Ocean. The gardens are beautifully maintained and are terraced with a path leading down to the beach. The Inn itself has 6 large rooms within the main house that are beautifully accommodated and very comfortable, and several separate cottages . . . these rooms are definitely a place to snuggle up on a rainy day in front of the fireplace. The staff led by Benita is very warm and extremely accommodating to any request including special meal preparation. And, the dining experience was fantastic. The new chef, Adam, created beautiful and delicious five course dining experiences both evenings and the breakfast was exceptional both mornings. This is definitely a place to stay when visiting the Mendocino area . . . I am already looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margueritedinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

My wife and I spent 4 nights in one of the cottages at Harbor House for part of our honeymoon. Our stay exceeded expectations in all ways. The new chef, Adam, is absolutly fantastic and his food presentation is beautiful. He has a new and creative menu every night and we never went to sleep hungry or overly full. When we had to leave for our flight out of San Francisco at 4 AM in the morning, he even took the time to put together a morning breakfast of mik and granola, fresh fruit, pound cake, and panna cotta! The location and view is one of the best I have ever seen, and I have travel to many beautiful places! I would suggest this to anyone looking to spend a beautiful romantic weekend; I would not suggest bringing your kids. Overall A+

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpsoraruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We had dinner at the Harbor House with our two young children. The price of $65/per person seemed a bit high but I was really shocked when our children received a bowl of homemade macaroni and cheese and the price was $25/ per child. The adult 4 course meal was good but very sparse. We all left hungry and would not recommend dining at this establishment.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hopscotchCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

This place was the pearl of our trip. Fine dining, good wine and very romantic!

Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
12.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
24.1 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House Inn

Property: The Harbor House Inn
Address: 5600 S Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Hotel Elk
The Harbor House Inn Elk, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing