We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, romantic inn with a stunning view - and great food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2008

We held our wedding at Harbor House and it was incredible. Not only is the surrounding area breathtaking, but the inn itself is absolutely beautiful. The staff was fabulous - and we've never met a friendlier or more capable innkeeper than Jenni!! We rented out the entire inn for 3 days and she took care of all of our guests flawlessly. The breakfasts and dinners were simply exquisite, and the wines were amazing. Since the whole inn was ours, we got to see and spend time in every room and, honestly, they're all fabulous. On two different visits, we stayed in the Greenwood room (cozy and charming with a meadow view) and the Cypress room (lavish, ocean view, clawfoot tub, private deck). The private beach is great, too. Harbor House is a quiet, peaceful, romantic inn located in one of the most gorgeous spots on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Snoopin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed at the Harbour House Inn on our way back from a short road trip up the coast of Mendocino and Humbolt County.
Our room was called the Lookout, it was a quaint and cozy small room with a beautiful victorian decor. The room has a gas fireplace and bay windows overlooking the ocean and manicured gardens. Our room also had a panoramic deck where we sat to enjoy our morning coffee. Conveniently, the Inn has a wonderful restaurant in the main House with open windows where you can enjoy the view while dining on a tasty 4 course dinner and hearty breakfast in the morning. The gardens have many trails heading to the ocean with breathtaking views. We took a walk down to the private beach where we stumbled upon a tiny creek waterfall that eventually drained into the ocean. Great hideaway for an anniverssary weekend, or just to enjoy the sights.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank SaskiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We reserved a room in March 2005, but had to cancel due to illness. The cancellation policy at that time was that the owners would keep the deposit in full, and it could be used for future reservations, with no expiration.
Not having been informed of new ownership, when we tried to book a reservation in Oct 2007, using our $340 deposit (for which the new owners still have a receipt), we were told that the new owners would not honor our deposit because this deposit money was not transferred to them when they purchased the Inn. Clearly they are concerned most about their wallets, and care little about the comfort of their guests (or potential guests). We lost $340, they lost future guests, including us. We would have stayed three nights, but we will find more comfortable inns in the Mendocino area. Lesson learned: read cancellation policies carefully.

Stayed: October 2007
7  Thank 66Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We recently were lucky enough to have our wedding at the Harbor House Inn. The staff made everything about the day truly memorable. The view from the Inn is breathtaking and each room is a hidden jewel. The Inn itself is a beautiful arts and crafts style Inn with amazing gardens The staff did everything to make the day run smoothly from providing bottles of water to finding an extension cord. My family and friends were all made to feel at home. Jenni was helpful throughout the planning process. The food is wonderful and fresh. The Harbor House is a unique, wonderful place in one of the most beautiful places along the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jb3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Oregon, not Elk, was our destination. On that particular day we didn't want to continue on to Mendocino and noticed that Elk had several B&B accommodations. We arrived close to 7 pm after a tiring drive up Highway 1 (very twisty stretches) and, presumably because we had no reservation, we were given a late arrival discount and the option to take dinner (usually included in the room rate). Though the meal seemed to be an excellent value, we needed something a bit lighter and less formal. The innkeeper referred us to Bridget Dolan's Pub (walking distance), which fit the bill perfectly. Good draft beers, and the best homemade chicken pot pie ever!

We stayed in the Oceansong cottage -- beautiful room with a fantastic unobstructed view of the cove (check the website) -- were in bed by 9 pm but got up a couple hours later to sit out on the private deck watching the stars. Breakfast is prepared to order, and we looked through albums documenting the history of Elk and the Harbor House while we waited.

We would seriously consider returning to Elk, and next time would use Hwy 128 to access the coast.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank zinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We stayed for two nights in the Lookout suite, with it's rooftop terrace framing the most amazing view on the coast- huge rocks enfolding a wild harbor and beautiful garden grounds. May seems to be the perfect time to go- we had no fog, and sunny, mild weather.

Next time I think we'd stay in Seaview cottage instead, separate from main house, because it, too has outstanding views and private deck.

Dinner and breakfast are included in deal, and are outstanding, and the whole dining experience perfect.

After viewing other accommodations on the Mendocino coast, I am still convinced that this was absolutely the best choice- we liked it far better than staying in Mendocino, both for views, and peacefulness. We visited the Mendocino botanic gardens- worth the visit, and more satisfying than shopping in Mendocino.

Other guests in the Inn rented kayaks and took them through the natural rock tunnels below us, and loved it. We did walk down the steep cliff to the gravelly beaches below and explored the tide pools and formations at low tide- it was exquisite- breath-taking views and sensory nature at every step.

The staff was mixed- some very capable and appropriately personable, some too talkative or not aware, but the food top-notch, the rooms beautiful and luxurious and clean, and we have never had a more beautiful visual experience than the views and gardens.

The gardener was intelligent, knowledgeable, and eager to share gardener's challenges regarding salt-spray and deer repellent,- a true artist.

We will go back-
At first glance, the price seems high, until you realize that a 4-course dinner and lavish breakfast are included- then- the value is worth far more, and we considered the stay a true bargain.

8  Thank gardenquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

The Harbor House Inn was a great place to stay. The staff was great and very helpful. It is in a very quiet location that has great views of the ocean. The food was excellent! I would highly recommend this for those who are just looking to get away.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank honee_bee616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
8 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House Inn

Address: 5600 S Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price Range: £213 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Hotel Elk
The Harbor House Inn Elk, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing