We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and updated, but hate paying for parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Very nice new hotel...very clean and with that fancy new Courtyard lobby look. The young lady who checked us in was absolutely the FRIENDLIEST check in person I've ever encountered, and I probably spend 30-40 days a year at hotels! I asked for a quiet room and that's exactly what we got...absolutely peaceful, quiet and I enjoyed blissful sleep. The work out room is pretty big, so at least 7-8 people could be in there at the same time...I hate the ones where if there are 2 people in there, that's it! The only objection I have is the $9/day parking..yuk! I understand that may be the nature of the location, but I still object to paying for parking in Emeryville! On the plus side the location is surrounded by retail (including a Trader Joes!) so that makes it convenient. Would consider staying here again in the future if I get a good rate again...

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room so they can put you away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

From check in to check out, this hotel met and exceeded expectations. Very clean, a great location to shopping and dining. They obviously take pride in the property. The staff is GREAT. Rose and Stephanie went out of their way to make us feel welcome. If you are looking to stay at a great place in the Oakland area, they should be at the top of your list. The rooms are spacious, bed is super comfortable. The only real negative thing I can say about the stay is the hot tub wasn't all that warm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhockeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This Hotel is right across from a huge shopping center with all the most popular stores, middle and high end shopping. Within walking distance behind the Hotel is another strip mall with Starbucks, BevMo, and several other stores of shopping convenience. The Hotel was very clean, staff quite friendly and helpful. Public transportation takes you right to the Ball park in Oakland. A very nice bar and restaurant in the Hotel lobby. They make a great latte at any time of the day or night! All the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful. The room was great with a beautiful view of the harbor. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I chose this hotel because I was looking for something close to SF but that wasn't super expensive. They were running a great deal for the weekend that couldn't be matched elsewhere. It's next to this cute little shopping center and is literally right off the bay bridge (which unfortunately I spent too much time sitting in traffic on). My room was clean and wasn't worn down at all and the staff at the front desk were really friendly. A typical courtyard experience and I would definitely come back here again for that price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions while visiting the East Bay. It is located in a great location not far from either Berkeley or Oakland and the Bay Bridge is only minutes away. There is a nice upscale shopping center across the street and other restaurants about two blocks away.

There are not a lot of hotels available in Berkeley so this one is ideal as it is about ten minutes away from downtown Berkeley and the Cal campus. It is an ideal location to stay during football weekends at Cal as the drive to and from campus is far less painful than driving in from San Francisco and the Concord / Walnut Creek area. I don't know about the availability of public transportation so I can't comment on bus or BART access to other East Bay points.

Service has always been friendly and the rooms seem to be nicer than your average Courtyard. There is ample paid parking behind the hotel but not much on the street. The higher rooms seem to be quieter and the rooms on the west side offer great views of the Bay and the Bay Bridge to San Francisco.

The upgraded self-service dining area is an improvement to what was there a couple of years ago and the lounge is more than adequate.

Room Tip: The paid parking may be the only option as there does not seem to be many spaces on the nearby stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed at Marriott Courtyard at the end of trip. This was the closest car rental to the Emeryville Amtrak station. Nice room on the 7th floor. Looked out over the Bay (Mud flats when the tide is out). Nice room, clean and well appointed. Amazingly, the hotel does NOT have a shuttle so you have to take a cab to and from Amtrak station. Had breakfast in the dining room on the morning we left. Food was quick and good, but nothing special. Large shopping mall/theater complex across the street so shopping was convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyonPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Well...what can I say? It's a busy, noisy, worn out Marriott Hotel, but it's in a good location and can save you a little cash if you don't want to spend the big bucks on a hotel in San Francisco.

Pros: the room was adequately clean, which means clean enough not to gross me out. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. I write "surprisingly" because the mattress was sagging in the middle so I expected my back to be hurting in the morning...but it didn't. Customer service was average- not good, not bad.

Cons: sagging mattress, wrinkled sheets, worn room decor. There is a $9 per day per car parking fee. (I didn't know about this in advance. The desk attendant said it was on the website unless you purchased the room through Marriott Rewards, which I did. No attempt to compensate me though.)

Overall, I think it's an okay place to stay if everything else is booked. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: £97 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing