We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Most Convenient Place to Stay in SF Bay Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While this location has started charging for parking since the last time we stayed at this hotel, it is still the most conveniently located hotel in the SF Bay Area. It is located pretty much between Oakland and Berkeley and near the eastern end of the Oakland Bay Bridge, so it is an easy drive to San Francisco. We stayed here while attending funeral services of a family member in Richmond, CA. We received excellent service at the front desk and in the cafe. It is also conveniently located to a major mall, several restaurants and specialty shops within easy walking distance to the hotel. Another excellent stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgmeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed for one night while husband had a meeting in Berkeley. Had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the Bay Bridge. After staying at a refurbished Courtyard by the SFO airport, this room seemed a little worn. Sofa had a stain on it and furniture showed obvious signs of wear. Did have a very good breakfast at the Bistro in the morning. Was told we could take a free item from the Market but ended up being charged for it. No biggie but had to have bill adjusted. Otherwise staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the bay have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Emeryville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us. While our furniture is a bit older than some hotels, we work hard to keep the room very clean. We are beginning the long process of renovating our rooms. It is too soon to tell when it will all be done, but I hope you will continue to stay with us to enjoy our great service and great views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past few years. All of my stays, including this one were very good. It is a typical courtyard hotel with a newly renovated lobby. The new lobby is great! The rooms are very clean and very quiet.

What makes this hotel is it's location. It is a across the street from a shopping center with restaurants, movie theatre and shops.

It in the area again, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Amazing 3 night stay in early May, booked 3 rooms to accommodate extended family, all here to celebrate our daughter's graduation from UC Berkeley. I don't usually find the time to write hotel reviews, but our stay at the Emeryville Courtyard was so outstanding, I felt compelled.

An easy drive to UC Berkeley, also an easy drive over the Bay Bridge into Union Square S.F. for an evening reception. You are right across the street from good shopping, restaurants, Barnes and Noble book store, movies, even a Trader Joe's market. Had a wonderful morning jog along a bike/walking path a few short blocks from the hotel overlooking the bay/marina with gorgeous views of Golden Gate Bridge and SF skyline...could do this as a pleasant morning walk as well.

Our room had this same bay bridge and golden gate bridge/SF skyline view across the SF bay! Nice spacious, quiet, and clean rooms. But what made our stay especially memorable was the impeccable service and friendliness of the hotel staff, always with a smile and courteous response. They went out of their way to ensure everything was taken care of for our entire party, from special needs for my mother-in-law who requires a handicap accessible room and special amenities to mailing my electric razor adaptor plug back to my home In So Cal the moment I called to let them know I had left it in the room.

If you have any plans to visit Berkeley, Oakland, East Bay, or even SF, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation...you will not be disappointed and your pocket book with thank you as well.

Room Tip: Request view of SF Bay, bridges, SF skyline, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

stayed in January on business. Had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the Bay. what a way to wake up (if you ignore the traffic jams). Our office is 300m away so a gentle stroll. Plenty of cheap and cheerful restaurants close by but easy enough to get downtown on the BART. the trolley bus is a 'must do'.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beware when you checked in to your room! Make sure you take photos of how it looked like including the condition of furniture inside. We checked in and an old red chair which was also repaired and sewed up was in the room. I guess I wasn't fussy enough to complain about it because I know that we'll be out during daytime and the chair would be of no use since we'd be sleeping on the beds after spending the whole days out. Guess what? We checked out after 3 nights of stay around 10 am on a Monday and was surprised to an e-mail the next morning that my credit card was charged $250 because the chair that was already old, ripped and repaired needs re-upholstery and apparently, we are being held responsible for it. Isn't that ridiculous, absurd and a rip-off? We have travelled to lots of places and countries, I didn't think that I have to record, take note and take photos of hotel room furniture for my own sake so as not to be accused of damaging it. Worst is the Front Office Supervisor who called me at home who did not want to admit that their staff was wrong about the accusation. She was so rude and yelled over the phone defending her staff while cutting me off and refused to listen. I had to stop her and said that the conversation should be over. I don't know where she got her 'customer service skills'.

This was the worst hotel we've been to with this experience. Not to mention that we woke up every morning to a clogged toilet that didn't flush and had to call for repair for the 3 mornings we were there.

Room Tip: Take photos and note condition of furniture and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meliong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This Courtyard meets all expectations of a Marriott. Rating is a comparison with other Courtyards and usefulness of this hotel location. Staff is very good and rooms are well sized for an urban location. A higher floor Bay View room will yield a nice view of SF and the Golden Gate Bridge without traffic noise. A lower floor Bay View room will possibly have a little highway noise but the view may be worth it. Parking reasonable at $9 in and out.
Rooms are clean and probably updated recently. The furniture is more than likely original to late 90's? Bed was very comfortable, bathrooms are a good size. TV's and functional, typical Courtyard choice of channels. Rooms quiet.
There are several transit options within walking distance. The Trans bay 'F' bus worked best for us. One day we made it to downtown SF in 14 minutes. The bus runs every 30 minutes at roughly 06 and 36 after the hour. Catch the bus across the street toward IKEA. The bus will drop you off on return almost in front of the hotel. The fair is $4.25 one way. Consider obtaining a "Clipper" card if you're going to make several trips. The same bus taken the other way will take you to downtown Berkeley. Additional options are available to take you to the MacArthur BART station for an easy train trip to the Embarcadero station in SF . Clipper cards are good on all buses and trains.
We found the close transit options justified our selecting this hotel instead of a SF hotel at a much higher nightly rate, plus expensive parking.
Excellent staff made our stay enjoyable. Transit, nearby restaurants and the close shopping made for a terrific location.
Free Wi-Fi was good and a small coffee maker is provided. This is a Courtyard so....no free breakfast or free coffee in the lobby(sigh).
11 or 12 restaurants within east walking distance.

Room Tip: 8-11 best floors. Bay view is nice, looking the other way would not be so bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
2.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price Range: £97 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing